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Maryland Vehicle Law - Required Security

This amended bill prohibits a person from willfully and knowingly creating, certifying, filing,
or providing false evidence of required security. For a first offense, violators are subject to a
maximum fine of $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to one year. A second or subsequent
offense could result in a maximum fine of $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to two years.

The bill is effective July 1, 1997.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal indeterminate increase in general fund revenues and
expenditures due to the bill’s penalty provision.

Local Effect: Potential minimal indeterminate increase in revenues and expenditures due to
the bill’s penalty provision.

Small Business Effect: None. The bill would not directly affect small businesses.

Fiscal Analysis

State Revenue: General fund revenues could increase under the bill’s monetary penalty
provision for those cases heard in the District Court, depending upon the number of
convictions and fines imposed.

As a point of reference, the District Court reports that in fiscal 1996 there were 126
violations of the current law prohibition against a person knowingly driving a vehicle without
the required security or a vehicle owner knowingly allowing another person to drive the
vehicle without the required security.
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State Expenditures: General fund expenditures could increase as a result of the bill’s
incarceration penalty due to more people being committed to a Division of Correction (DOC)
facility and increased payments to counties for reimbursement of inmate costs, depending
upon the number of convictions and sentences imposed.

Persons serving a sentence longer than one year are incarcerated in a DOC facility. In fiscal
1998 the average monthly cost per inmate is estimated at $1,500. Persons serving a sentence
of one year or less are sentenced to a local detention facility. The State reimburses counties
for part of their per diem rate after a person has served 90 days. State per diem
reimbursements for fiscal 1998 are estimated to range from $12 to $42 per inmate depending
upon the jurisdiction. Persons sentenced to such a term in Baltimore City are generally
incarcerated in a DOC facility. The Baltimore City Detention Center (BCDC), a State
operated facility, is used primarily for pretrial detentions. The per diem cost for BCDC in
fiscal 1998 is estimated at $43 per inmate.

Local Revenues: Revenues could increase under the bill’s monetary penalty provision for
those cases heard in the circuit courts, depending upon the number of convictions and fines
imposed.

Local Expenditures: Expenditures could increase as a result of the bill’s incarceration
penalty depending upon the number of convictions and sentences imposed. Counties pay the
full cost of incarceration for people in their facilities for the first 90 days of the sentence, plus
part of the per diem cost after 90 days. Per diem operating costs of local detention facilities
are expected to range from $23 to $83 per inmate in fiscal 1998.

Information Source(s): Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle Administration),
Judiciary (District Court of Maryland), Department of Fiscal Services
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