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Judicial Proceedings

Criminal Law - Failure of Duty to Report Death - Penalties

This bill provides that certain individuals with personal knowledge of a death, or who have
personally discovered a body, must provide notice to authorities of that death within 24 hours
to specified authorities. The bill limits this requirement to: (1) an individual who has care,
custody, responsibility for supervision, or responsibility for care of the deceased; (2) a
spouse, parent, or adult child of the deceased; or (3) a member of the deceased’s household.
Violators are guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to maximum penalties of a fine of $500
and/or imprisonment for up to one year. The bill exempts individuals who have a reasonable
belief that notification of the death has already been made.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The estimated number of additional deaths reported as a result of this bill is
considered to be negligible and could be handled by the Chief Medical Examiner’s Office
with existing resources. Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues and
expenditures due to the bill’s penalty provisions.

Local Effect: Minimal increase in revenues and expenditures due to the bill’s penalty
provisions.

Small Business Effect: None.
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Analysis

Current Law: There are no statutes in Maryland addressing the timely notice to authorities
of a death.

Background: The lack of a specific death notification law has created concern in Maryland
resulting from two recently reported cases involving the disposal of human remains as well as
the timely notification of death to proper authorities.

State Revenues: General fund revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s
monetary penalty provision from cases heard in the District Court.

State Expenditures: General fund expenditures could increase minimally as a result of the
bill’s incarceration penalty due to increased payments to counties for reimbursement of
inmate costs and more people being committed to Division of Correction (DOC) facilities.
The number of people convicted of this proposed crime is expected to be minimal.

Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than Baltimore City are
sentenced to a local detention facility. The State reimburses counties for part of their
incarceration costs, on a per diem basis, after a person has served 90 days. State per diem
reimbursements for fiscal 2001 are estimated to range from $11 to $54 per inmate depending
upon the jurisdiction. Persons sentenced to such a term in Baltimore City are generally
incarcerated in a DOC facility. Currently, the DOC average total cost per inmate, including
overhead, is estimated at $1,700 per month. This bill alone, however, should not create the
need for additional beds, personnel, or facilities. The average variable cost of housing a new
DOC inmate (food, medical care, etc.), excluding overhead, is $260 per month.

Local Revenues: Revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s monetary
penalty provisions from cases heard in the circuit courts.

Local Expenditures: Expenditures could increase as a result of the bill’s incarceration
penalty. Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for the first 90 days of the sentence, plus
part of the per diem cost after 90 days. Per diem operating costs of local detention facilities
are expected to range from $22 to $83 per inmate in fiscal 2001.
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Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: HB 58 (Delegate Cadden, et al.) - Environmental Matters.

Information Source(s): Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (Office of the Chief
Medical Examiner), Department of Legislative Services
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