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  Vehicle Laws - Aggressive Driving 
 

 
This bill establishes the offense of aggressive driving.  An individual is guilty of 
aggressive driving if the individual, while exceeding the posted speed limit, commits a 
combination of two or more specified offenses at the same time or arising out of 
circumstances simultaneous in time and place.  Violators are subject to a fine of up to 
$500 or imprisonment of up to two months.  In addition, three points are assessed on the 
violator’s driving record.  The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) must assess 
cumulative points for aggressive driving and each additional offense that was committed 
at the same time or arising out of simultaneous circumstances to a maximum of 12 points.   
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures would increase by $66,700 
in FY 2002, exclusive of costs for administrative hearings and computer programming.  
Future years reflect annualization and inflation.  TTF revenues would increase from fees 
to reissue suspended and revoked licenses. General fund revenues would increase 
minimally from fines.  
  

(in dollars) FY 2002 FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005 FY 2006 
GF Revenue - - - - - 
SF Revenue - - - - - 
SF Expenditure 66,700 92,200 97,000 102,000 107,500 
Net Effect ($66,700) ($92,200) ($97,000) ($102,000) ($107,500) 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  The criminal penalty provisions of this bill are not expected to materially 
affect local finances or operations.   
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Small Business Effect:  Minimal.  To the extent that drivers accumulate additional points 
on their driving records, small businesses that provide driver improvement programs may 
experience an indeterminate increase in business. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  There is no offense for aggressive driving under the Maryland Vehicle 
Law.  However, reckless driving is defined as driving in a wanton or willful disregard for 
the safety of persons or property.  Further, negligent driving is defined as driving in a 
careless or imprudent manner that endangers the life or property of any individual.         
 
Background:  In 1997 the Federal Highway Administration awarded a $400,000 grant to 
the Maryland State Police to test advanced speed detection devices and high-resolution 
digital cameras that would detect and record aggressive driving and other traffic 
violations.  Warnings are sent to the offending drivers but no fines are imposed under the 
pilot program. 
 
In fiscal 2000 there were over 390,000 citations issued for offenses listed in the bill.  
Over 203,000 drivers either prepaid the fine or were convicted in court. 
 
In 2000, 19 states introduced a total of 36 aggressive driving bills, and so far this year 8 
states have 14 bills under consideration.  Most of these bills attempted to define 
aggressive driving offenses and to establish penalties for them.  Some specify 
characteristics of aggressive drivers, or give those convicted of the offense certain 
additional penalties.  Arizona became the first state to adopt an aggressive driving law in 
1998.  In 1999 Delaware and Nevada enacted similar laws.  The Delaware law provides 
that drivers are guilty of aggressive driving if convicted of three or more specific traffic 
offenses resulting from a single incident.  Offenders are required to attend behavior 
modification courses.         
 
State Revenues:  General fund revenues could increase from the penalty provision 
applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500 fine).  Any 
increase is assumed to be minimal.  The imprisonment penalty provision of this bill is not 
expected to significantly affect State expenditures or operations. 
 
The MVA charges a $45 fee to process forms in order to reinstate a license that was 
revoked due to non-alcohol related offenses and $75 to reinstate a license revoked for 
alcohol/drug related offenses.  A $20 fee is charged to create the new license.  TTF 
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revenues could increase in future years based on the number of individuals whose 
licenses were revoked and subsequently reinstated. 
 
State Expenditures: Transportation Trust Fund expenditures could increase by an 
estimated $66,720 in fiscal 2002, which accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2001 effective 
date.  This estimate reflects the cost of hiring two administrative specialists to process an 
estimated 3,000 license suspensions.  It includes salaries, fringe benefits, one-time start-
up costs, and ongoing operating expenses. 
 

Salaries and Fringe Benefits $58,425 

Operating Expenses 8,295 

Total FY 2002 State Expenditures $66,720 

 
Future year expenditures reflect:  (1) full salaries with a 6.5% increase in fiscal 2003 and 
a 4.5% increase each year thereafter, with 3% employee turnover; and (2) 1% annual 
increases in ongoing operating expenses. 
 
It costs the MVA approximately $92 in reimbursable funds to the Office of 
Administrative Hearings for each MVA hearing.  The number of additional hearings that 
may be held to contest license suspensions is uncertain.  To the extent that individuals 
with suspended licenses request hearings, TTF expenditures could increase. 
 
The MVA advises that computer programming expenditures could increase by an 
estimated $30,000 to modify the computer programs to reflect cumulative point 
assessments.  The Department of Legislative Services (DLS) advises that if other 
legislation is passed requiring computer reprogramming changes, economies of scale 
could be realized.  This would reduce computer programming costs associated with this 
bill and other legislation affecting the MVA system.  Further, DLS advises that the 
increased computer expenditure is simply an estimate and the MVA may be able to 
handle the changes either with less money than it estimates or with existing resources. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  Two similar bills were introduced in the 2000 session as SB 217 
and HB 1234 and in the 1999 session as SB 710.  SB 217 passed the Senate but received 
an unfavorable report from the House Judiciary Committee.  HB 1234 received an 
unfavorable report from the House Judiciary Committee.  SB 710 passed the Senate but 
was not reported from the House Commerce and Government Matters Committee.         
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Cross File:  None.     
 
Information Source(s):  Judiciary (District Court), Department of Legislative Services         
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/jr 

First Reader – March 13, 2001   
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