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Driver Licensing - New Residents - Extension of Exemption Period

This departmental bill extends the time allowed for a new resident to obtain avalid State
license from 30 days to 60 days if the resident has avalid license issued by another state.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal decreases in Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) revenues
in FY 2003 only, depending on the number of license applicants who use the proposed
30-day extension. Under one scenario, the revenue loss would be $37,350. Also,
potential minimal loss of general fund revenues from fewer tickets used.

L ocal Effect: None.
Small Business Effect: The Department of Transportation has determined that this bill

has minimal or no impact on small business (attached). The Department of Legidlative
Services (DL S) concurs with this assessment.

Analysis

Current Law: An individual may not drive or attempt to drive a motor vehicle on any
highway in this State unless:

e theindividual holds a Maryland driver’s license;

* the individual is expressly exempt from the licensing requirements (e.g., licensed
nonresidents); or



» the individual otherwise is specifically authorized to drive vehicles of the class that
the individual is driving or attempting to drive.

A new resident of the State is exempt from licensing requirements and the associated
penalties during the first 30 days of residency if: (1) the individual has a valid license
issued by the state where he/she previously resided; (2) the license issued by that state
authorizes the individual to drive the same class of vehicle that he/she is driving in
Maryland; and (3) the individual is at least the same age as that required for aresident to
drive avehicle of the same class the individual is driving in this State.

Background: The bill would make licensing and vehicle registration requirements
consistent. Pursuant to Chapter 19 of 2000, new residents have 60 days to register their
vehicle in the State.

State Revenues: According to the MV A, approximately 100,000 new residents apply for
a Maryland driver’s license each year; the license fee is $45. If al residents delayed
license application by one month, the full cost in fiscal 2003 would be $373,500. Future
years would not be affected. However, the agency only expects about 10% of new State
residents to take advantage of the full grace period because applicants need a current
driver’s license to conduct personal business. Based on this assumption, the potential
effect would be a $37,350 revenue decrease.

DL S advises that this amount is likely to be somewhat higher, but concurs with the MV A
that the fiscal effect will not be significant. DLS further advises that genera fund
revenues could decline minimally as compliance with the licensing requirement is
expected to increase under the provisions of the bill. The maximum fine for driving
without alicense is $520.

Additional I nfor mation
Prior Introductions: None.
CrossFile None.

Information Source(s): Department of Transportation, Maryland State Police,
Department of Legidative Services
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