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Commerce and Government Matters     
 

Vehicle Laws - Use of Hand-Held Telephone While Driving - Prohibition 
 

 
This bill prohibits a driver of a motor vehicle from operating a hand-held telephone while 
the vehicle is in motion.  The bill does not apply to:  (1) a driver calling 911 or a public 
safety agency in connection with an emergency; (2) an employee of an electric, gas, or 
telephone company (as defined in § 1-101 of the Public Utility Companies Article) 
making a call in connection with emergency communications; or (3) an operator of an 
emergency vehicle acting in an official capacity.  A violation is a misdemeanor, 
punishable by a fine of not more than $500. 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Minimal general fund revenue increase from the penalty provision 
applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500 fine). 
Enforcement could be handled with existing resources. 
  
Local Effect:  Enforcement could be handled with existing resources. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  There are no restrictions in the Maryland Vehicle Law governing the use 
of hand-held telephones while driving. 
 
Background:  The debate surrounding telephone use by drivers focuses on driver 
distraction.  Nationwide, the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration 
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estimates that 25% to 30% of motor vehicle crashes are caused by driver distraction.  One 
widely quoted report published in 1997 in the New England Journal of Medicine 
concluded that the distraction caused by phone use in motor vehicles quadrupled the risk 
of a collision during the brief period of a call, a rate equivalent to the impairment caused 
by legal intoxication.  However, after probing further into instances of driver distraction 
and North Carolina crash data, the University of North Carolina Highway Safety 
Research Center found that cell phones ranked eighth in a list of distractions that caused 
crashes, below activities such as adjusting the radio, eating, and drinking.  According to 
Maryland State Police accident report data from January 1, 2000 through June 30, 2001, 
“failed to give full attention” was a contributing circumstance in 55% to 58% of 
accidents. 
 
There are over 2 million cell phone users in Maryland, and studies show that 85% of cell 
phone users use their phones at least occasionally while driving.  Over 25% of such 
individuals are estimated to use their phones during at least half of their vehicle trips.  In 
October 2000 Maryland began tracking cell phone-related accidents as a separate 
contributing circumstance on accident report forms.  Through June 30, 2001, cellphones 
have been listed as a contributing circumstance in 67 of over 40,000 accidents. 
 
In 2001, New York became the first state to prohibit the use of hand-held cell phones 
while driving, except in emergencies.  The maximum penalty for illegal cell phone use is 
$100.  New York’s law took effect November 1, but police were instructed to issue only 
warnings for the first 30 days.  In December 2001, it was reported that the New York 
State Police issued 303 citations for drivers using hand-held cell phones.  New York has 
since granted a grace period through March 1, 2002, until which time they will waive 
fines for drivers who provide proof of purchase of a hands-free device. 
 
Most other states have at least considered state legislation restricting cell phone use by 
drivers.  Minor restrictions on cellular phone use have been imposed in a few other states.  
California requires rental cars that are equipped with cellular phones to include 
instructions on safe usage of such phones.  Florida allows cellular phone use while 
driving as long as the operator can hear surrounding sounds through one ear.  
Massachusetts requires that drivers keep at least one hand on the steering wheel at all 
times while operating a cellular phone.  Arizona and Massachusetts prohibit cell phone 
use by school bus drivers while the bus is in motion. 
 
Additionally, 14 industrialized countries -- including Britain, France, Germany, Israel, 
Italy, Japan, Australia, and Spain -- now restrict or ban hand-held phone use while 
driving. 
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Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  In 2001, HB 89 received an unfavorable report in the Commerce 
and Government Matters Committee.  The committee did not report out HB 43 in 2000 
and also gave HB 37 an unfavorable report in 1999. 
 
Cross File:  None. 
 
Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Maryland State 
Police, Maryland Department of Transportation (State Highway Administration, Motor 
Vehicle Administration), The Capital, The Washington Post, National Conference of 
State Legislatures, National Public Services Research Institute, Department of Legislative 
Services 
 
Fiscal Note History:  
lc/cer    

First Reader - February 7, 2002 
 

 
Analysis by:  Mitchell J. McCalmon  Direct Inquiries to: 

John Rixey, Coordinating Analyst 
(410) 946-5510 
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