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  Sheriffs - Disposal of Property - Holding Period 
 

 
This bill provides that county sheriffs must possess lawfully confiscated property for at 
least one year before they can sell or dispose of the property and decreases from one year 
to 90 days the minimum time period that county sheriffs must possess abandoned or 
recovered property before they can sell or dispose of the property. 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  None. 
  
Local Effect:  County expenditures could decrease by a minimal amount beginning in 
FY 2004 and county revenues could increase by a minimal amount. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Each county sheriff may establish guidelines for disposing of abandoned, 
lawfully confiscated, or recovered property in the possession of the sheriff’s office.  
Those guidelines must provide that after the property has been in the sheriff’s possession 
for one year, notice of the sale of the property must be given to those persons entitled to 
its possession and to any lienholders whose names and addresses can be reasonably 
ascertained. 
 
Background:  Sheriffs’ offices typically hold abandoned, lawfully confiscated, or 
recovered property for a year before disposition.  Many full-service sheriffs’ offices hold 
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property for more than a year before disposition.  However, in Baltimore City and the 
five counties with a police department, most sheriffs’ offices turn over abandoned, 
lawfully confiscated, or recovered property to the police department or only hold 
property as evidence in court cases. 
 
The length of time that police departments must hold abandoned, lawfully confiscated, or 
recovered property before they can sell or dispose of the property varies in each 
jurisdiction.  Police departments are required to hold property for 30 days before sale or 
disposition in Baltimore City and Baltimore County, 60 days in Anne Arundel and 
Montgomery counties, and 90 days in Howard and Prince George’s counties.  
Additionally, the Maryland State Police are required to hold property for six months 
before sale. 
 
Local Fiscal Effect:  Generally, county expenditures could decrease by a minimal 
amount as each sheriff’s office would no longer need to lease or maintain space to store 
abandoned or recovered property.  It is anticipated that the shorter time requirement 
would result in more frequent public auctions and allow for counties to realize revenues 
more quickly each year.  Any impact on county revenues and expenditures is assumed to 
be minimal. 
 
By way of illustration, Harford County, a full-service sheriff’s office, stores nearly 
15,000 items in inventory, disposes approximately 3,800 items annually, and earns about 
$10,000 annually.  In Prince George’s County, which is not a full-service sheriff’s office, 
the sheriff’s office turns over most abandoned, lawfully confiscated, or recovered 
property to the county’s police department and only keeps property as evidence in 
ongoing cases with property being returned to rightful owners at the conclusion of the 
case. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.  
 
Cross File:  HB 181 (Delegate Glassman, et al.) – Judiciary. 
 
Information Source(s):  Montgomery County, Prince George’s County, Garrett County, 
Dorchester County, Baltimore County, Anne Arundel County, Caroline County, 
Washington County, Kent County, Carroll County, Cecil County, Howard County, 
Department of Legislative Services  
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