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FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE

House Bill 822 (Delegate King, et al.)
Judiciary

Family Law - Child Support - Termination

This bill provides that a person who has attained the age of 18 and is enrolled in
secondary school has the right to receive support and maintenance from both parents until
the person becomes 21, if that event occurs before other emancipating circumstances.
The bill’s provisions are considered to be a material change of circumstances for
purposes of modifying child support orders issued before the October 1, 2003 effective
date.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: The Department of Human Resources could verify the enrollment status of
individuals receiving child support with existing budgeted resources. The Judiciary could
handle any modifications of child support orders within existing budgeted resources.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: The age of majority is 18 years. A person who is 18 is considered an
adult for all purposes and has the same rights, capacities, and powers as persons 21 years
or older had before July 1, 1973. The term “minor” refers to persons who are younger
than 18 years of age. The parents of a minor child are both responsible for their child's
support, welfare, and education, and each parent has the same powers and duties as the
other parent in relation to the child. A person who is 18 and enrolled in secondary school
is considered a minor and has the right to receive support and maintenance from both



parents until the person dies, marries, is emancipated, graduates from or is no longer
enrolled in secondary school, or becomes 19, whichever occurs first. Currently, a court
lacks the authority to order child support payments for a person who is 19 years of age or
older, unless the parents agree to continue support.

Background: According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, 34 states,
including Maryland, allow continuation of child support until the age of 19 if the child is
a high school student. States vary the termination date of child support for high school
students and may establish it at 19, 20, or 21. Enrollment in a high school equivalency,
vocational, or technical course of education meets the educational requirement in some
states. The District of Columbia, Indiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, New
York, and Oregon establish the termination of child support at 21. In Hawaii, support
terminates at 18, but may be extended until the age of 23 if the child is enrolled in an
accredited higher educational institution.

Additional I nfor mation
Prior Introductions. None.
CrossFile: None.
Information Source(s): Department of Human Resources, Office of Child Support
Enforcement-U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Conference of

State Legislatures, Department of Legislative Services
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