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This bill prohibits a licensed driver under the age of 18 from driving with a passenger
under the age of 18 for 180 days (six months) after the provisional driver's license is
issued. The restriction, which would be imposed on each provisional driver’s license,
does not apply to a passenger who is a spouse, daughter, son, or sibling of the licensee. A
police officer may only enforce this provision as a secondary violation (i.e., it cannot be
the primary cause for stopping a motorist). The bill provides that a violation of the
restriction is a moving violation for which an individual may be fined up to $500 and
assessed one point upon conviction.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potentially minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the penalty
provision applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500
fine). Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures would increase by $6,600 in FY
2004 due to one-time printing costs. Potential increase in TTF expenditures for computer
programming costs if alicense restriction is required for each affected licensee.

(indollars) FY 2004 FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008
Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
SF Expenditure 6,600 0 0 0 0
Net Effect ($6,600) $0 $0 $0 $0

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect

Local Effect: None. Enforcement could be handled with existing resources.

Small Business Effect: None.



Analysis

Current Law: The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) may not issue a driver's
license to any individual who has not reached the age of 17 years, 7 months; exemptions
are allowed for the issuance of noncommercial Class B, Class C, or M licenses. An
applicant is entitled to receive a provisiona license if the applicant meets the minimum
age required (16 years and 1 month) and satisfies the learner’s instructional permit
requirements. The applicant must also pass a driver skills or driver road examination,
surrender any learner’s permit, and pay the fee.

Under the Graduated Licensing System (GLS), a provisional licensee may not drive
unsupervised between 12 midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless accompanied and supervised by
a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old or is driving to or from: (1) employment;
(2) aschool class or official school activity; (3) an organized volunteer activity; or (4) an
athletic event or related training session. Chapter 456 of 2001 requires the MV A to place
arestriction on each provisional driver’s license that prohibits licensees under the age of
18 from driving a vehicle if the driver and each passenger are not restrained by a seatbelt
unless a medical exception applies. For a first offense of a provisiona license, a driver
may have to take a driver improvement course. The MVA may suspend the offender’s
provisional license for up to 30 days for the second offense, and may suspend or revoke
the offender’ s provisional license for up to 180 days for athird or subsequent offense.

Background: Chapter 483 of 1998 established the provisiona drivers' licensing system,
which became effective on July 1, 1999. The Nationa Traffic Safety Administration
rates the program as acceptable. According to the Nationa Conference of State
Legidlatures, 19 states, including Delaware, New Jersey, South Carolina, Virginia, and
the District of Columbia, now impose passenger restrictions on novice drivers.

Restrictions vary from allowing no passengers without the supervision of a 21-year-old
driver for the first 90 days that the license is issued (Indiana) to allowing no more than 3
passengers younger than 19 (West Virginia). In California, drivers are prohibited from
transporting passengers under age 20 unless accompanied by a parent or an adult over 25
for the first six months of their provisiona license. A family exemption allows teens
unaccompanied by an adult to drive immediate family members under age 20 during the
first six months with parental authorization.

State Revenues. General fund revenues may increase minimally due to the penalty

provision applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500
fine). Because the violation can only be enforced as a secondary violation and the
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number of drivers under 18 is a small percentage of the driving population, any such
increase is assumed to be minimal.

State Expenditures. TTF expenditures would increase by $6,600 in fiscal 2004 to pay
for one-time printing costs ($6,600) for GLS forms and brochures. The Department of
Legislative Services observes that funding for the driver's handbook will require
updating regardless of any legislation that may be enacted, and could be handled with
existing resources. The MV A advises that the bill requires arestriction on a licensee that
could be enforced as a matter of State law and would not require a restriction on each
driver’s provisional license. Computer programming costs associated with imposing a
restriction on al provisiona licenses would be $72,820. Additional computer
expenditures may be needed for processing removal of the restriction.

Additional | nformation

Prior Introductions. Anidentical bill has been introduced during the last four sessions,
including SB 527 in the 2002 session. The Judicial Proceedings Committee gave each
bill an unfavorable report.

CrossFile: None.

Infor mation Source(s): Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle Administration),
National Conference of State Legislatures, National Traffic Safety Administration,
Department of Legidlative Services
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