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Judicial Proceedings     Environmental Matters 
 

  Vehicle Law - Commercial Driver's License and Instructional Permit - Minimum 
Age 

 

   
This departmental bill repeals the authority of the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) 
to issue a commercial driver’s license or a commercial driver’s instructional permit to an 
individual under the age of 18.  It also repeals the authority of the MVA to adopt 
regulations for intrastate motor carrier transportation that could authorize a driver to be 
younger than 18 years of age. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  This bill would not substantively change State activities or operations.  
However, enactment of the bill may ensure continued receipt of $2.4 million in annual 
federal funding.   
  
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  The Department of Transportation has determined that this bill 
has minimal or no impact on small business (attached).  Legislative Services concurs with 
this assessment. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Except as specified by statute, the MVA is prohibited from issuing a 
commercial driver’s license or a commercial driver’s instructional permit to any 
individual who is not a resident of Maryland and who is not at least 21.  The MVA is 
authorized to issue a Class A, B, or C commercial driver’s license or instructional permit 
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to an individual under 21, if the individual is at least 18.  Such a license may not include 
a hazardous materials endorsement, may not be valid for commercial interstate operation 
except as specified in federal regulation, and must be valid for commercial intrastate and 
all noncommercial operation. 
 
The MVA is authorized to issue a Class B commercial driver’s license or instructional 
permit to an individual under 18 if the individual is at least 16 and has satisfactorily 
completed a required driver’s education course.  The individual is exempt from the 
required laboratory instruction, but not the required classroom instruction, if the 
individual has been licensed regularly to drive in another state for at least six months and 
demonstrates that the driving experience is sufficient to justify the exemption.  A 
commercial driver’s license or instructional permit issued to an individual under 18, but 
at least 16, may not include a hazardous materials endorsement or a passenger vehicle 
endorsement.  Such a license may not be valid for commercial interstate operation except 
as specified by federal regulation, and shall be valid for commercial intrastate and all 
noncommercial operation.  The MVA is also authorized to issue a commercial driver’s 
license to an applicant domiciled in a foreign country, consistent with federal regulations. 
 
Regulations adopted by the MVA for intrastate motor carrier transportation may not 
require that a driver be older than 18, with the possible exception of regulations relating 
to the qualifications and the service hours of a commercial driver in interstate commerce, 
a commercial driver transporting hazardous materials requiring placarding under federal 
regulations, or a commercial driver of a vehicle designed to transport 16 or more 
passengers, including the driver.  
 
Background:  Maryland annually receives federal grants, averaging about $2.4 million, 
from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration under the Motor Carrier Safety 
Assistance Program for commercial vehicle safety enforcement.  A condition of this grant 
money is that State law be consistent with federal motor carrier safety regulations.  
Federal regulations currently require an individual to be at least 21 to operate a 
commercial vehicle.  However, federal guidelines permit states to issue a commercial 
driver’s license (for intrastate use only) to a person who is at least 18.  
 
The MVA advises that there is currently one individual in the State who is younger than 
18 and possesses a commercial driver’s license. 
 
State Fiscal Effect:  The MVA uses a manual process to determine the age of an 
applicant for a commercial driver’s license.  Passage of the bill would not create a fiscal 
impact for the MVA, as it does not require any change in these manual processes.   
 
 



SB 105 / Page 3 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.  
 
Cross File:   None.  
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Transportation, Department of Legislative 
Services   
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/cer    

First Reader - February 3, 2003 
 

 
Analysis by:  Karen D. Morgan  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 
 




