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  Code Home Rule Counties - Development Excise Taxes 
 

   
This bill increases, from $750 to $2,000, the maximum development excise tax that can 
be imposed to finance public school facilities or improvements in code home rule 
counties.   
 
The bill takes effect July 1, 2003 and terminates June 30, 2004. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  None. 
  
Local Effect:  Caroline County revenues could increase by $72,500 in FY 2004 only. 
This estimate assumes that individuals would not postpone the purchase of subdivision 
lots until FY 2005 when the increased taxing authority sunsets.  Local revenues in the 
other five code home rule counties would not be affected.  Expenditures would not be 
affected.  
  
Small Business Effect:  Minimal. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law: A code home rule county may impose a maximum $750 development 
excise tax per lot when a subdivision lot is initially sold or transferred for the purpose of 
financing school construction projects and a maximum $750 development excise tax per 
lot for financing agricultural land preservation.  This limitation does not apply to a code 
home rule county that has been granted specific statutory authorization to impose either 
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an impact fee or development excise tax.  Six counties operate under the code home rule 
form of government:  Allegany, Caroline, Charles, Kent, Queen Anne’s, and Worcester.  
 
Background:  In 1990 the Maryland Court of Appeals held that counties must obtain 
explicit authority from the General Assembly before imposing impact fees.  The General 
Assembly has granted code home rule counties the authority to impose development 
impact fees under Article 25B, Section 13D and development excise taxes under Article 
25B, Sections 13F and 13G.  The General Assembly has not passed a uniform 
authorization applying to the other counties; therefore, these counties need specific 
statutory authorization before imposing an impact fee.  
 
Currently, 14 counties are granted the authority to impose impact fees or development 
excise taxes.  Exhibit 1 shows the counties that currently impose an impact fee or 
development excise tax, the year the fee or tax was authorized, and the revenues collected 
from the fee or tax in fiscal 2003.  Garrett, Washington, and Wicomico counties are also 
authorized to impose impact fees; however, the counties have not imposed any fees at 
this time. 
 

Exhibit 1 
Impact Fees/Building Excise Taxes on New Construction 

County Year Enacted Rate Per Dwelling FY 2003 Revenues 

    
Anne Arundel Ch. 350 of 1986 $4,069 $9,000,000 

Calvert1 Ch. 232 of 2001 3,950 3,000,000 

Caroline2 Ch. 565 of 1993 850 to 1,500 60,000 
     
Carroll3 Ch. 108 of 1987 4,744 6,671,000 

Charles4 Ch. 642 of 1973 5,000 5,702,673 

Frederick5 Ch. 468 of 1990 7,144 9,631,680 
     
Howard6 Ch. 285 of 1992 $0.80/sq. ft. 5,294,217 

Montgomery7 

 

 
Ch. 808 of 1963 
Ch. 707 of 1990 2,100 2,500,000 

 
Prince George’s Ch. 597 of 1990 5,000 11,000,000 
     
Queen Anne’s8 Ch. 410 of 1988 4,329 2,510,000 

St. Mary’s Ch. 814 of 1974 4,500 2,600,000 
     
Total   $57,969,570 
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Notes: 
1Calvert County imposed an impact fee prior to 2001 (Chapter 326 of 1987).  Chapter 232 of 2001 
established a building excise tax.  The current tax is $3,000 for schools, $600 for recreation, and $350 for 
solid waste. 
 

2The current tax in Caroline County is $750 for schools and $100 to $750 for agricultural land 
preservation.  In addition, Article 25B, Section 13D enables the county to impose a development impact 
fee. 
 

3The current fee in Carroll County is $4,197 for schools and $547 for parks. 
 

4Chapter 586 of 2002 repealed the $5,000 school construction impact fee in Charles County and 
established a new school construction excise tax.  The tax may not exceed $9,700 for a single-family 
detached home, $9,200 for a town house, and $7,000 for a multifamily housing unit. 
 

5Chapter 690 of 2001 authorized the Frederick County Commissioners to impose a building excise tax in 
lieu of the impact fee. 
 

6Howard County imposes a building excise tax in lieu of an impact fee.  The rate is $0.80 per sq. ft. for 
residential construction; nonresidential is taxed at $0.40/sq. ft.; first 500 sq. ft. is $400. 
 

7Montgomery County also imposes several regional impact fees: $2,492 in Germantown, $2,753 in 
Clarksburg, and $1,727 in eastern Montgomery County.  
 

8Queen Anne’s County received authority to impose an impact fee in 1988, prior to the county becoming 
a code home rule county.  In addition, Article 25B, Section 13D enables the county to impose a 
development impact fee. 
 
Development Impact Fees and Excise Taxes in Code Home Rule Counties 
 
Code home rule counties have the authority to impose either a development impact fee 
under Article 25B, Section 13D or a development excise tax under Article 25B, Sections 
13F and 13G.  The counties cannot impose both an impact fee and an excise tax.  The 
development impact fee does not have a maximum cap; however, the development excise 
tax is limited to $750 per lot for school construction and $750 per lot for agricultural land 
preservation. 
 
Three code home rule counties (Caroline, Charles, and Queen Anne’s) impose either a 
development excise tax or impact fee on new construction.  Allegany, Kent, and 
Worcester counties do not impose such taxes or fees.  
 
Caroline County is the only code home rule county that imposes a development excise 
tax pursuant to Article 25B, Section 13F.  Charles County imposes a school construction 
excise tax pursuant to Article 66B, Section 14.05 and Queen Anne’s County imposes a 
school impact fee pursuant to Chapter 410 of 1988 and Article 25, Section 13D. 
 
Local Fiscal Effect:  Caroline County could increase its maximum development excise 
tax for school construction by $1,250 per lot in fiscal 2004 only.  The maximum 
development excise tax for agricultural land preservation is not affected.   
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Caroline County collected $43,500 in development excise taxes for school construction in 
fiscal 2003.  This represents the maximum $750 charge on 58 subdivision lots.  If the 
maximum tax was increased to $2,000, and assuming the same number of lots, Caroline 
County would be able to collect an additional $72,500.  However, increasing the 
maximum development excise tax for only one year may encourage individuals to 
postpone the purchase of subdivision lots until fiscal 2005 when the increased taxing 
authority sunsets.  This would reduce or eliminate any revenue gain anticipated from this 
bill.  Exhibit 2 shows the potential increase in revenues from increasing the maximum 
development excise tax. 
 

Exhibit 2 
Potential Revenue Increase 

 
 Current Law HB 1148 Difference 
Maximum Tax $750  $2,000  $1,250  
Subdivision Lots 58  58  58  
Revenues $43,500  $116,000  $72,500  
 
 
Additional Comments:  Caroline County will be conducting a feasibility study on 
whether to implement a development impact fee instead of the current development 
excise tax.  A benefit of imposing an impact fee is that the amount charged by the county 
is not limited by statute.  However, a potential disadvantage is that an impact fee involves 
a more complex process and requires the jurisdiction to justify the fee amount in relation 
to the potential impact that the new development would have on the jurisdiction.  A 
development excise tax is a more straightforward approach in financing capital projects 
resulting from new development.  
 
Caroline County officials requested that the current limitation on the development excise 
tax be repealed or increased to $5,000 per lot.  Pursuant to this legislation, the limitation 
is only increased to $2,000 per lot for fiscal 2004 only.  
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  HB 839, introduced at the 1998 session, repealed the $750 per lot 
cap on development excise taxes in code home rule counties.  The bill received a 
favorable report from the House Ways and Means Committee and was adopted by the 
House.  The bill received an unfavorable report by the Senate Budget and Taxation 
Committtee.  
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Cross File:  None.  
 
Information Source(s):  Allegany County, Queen Anne’s County, Kent County, 
Caroline County, Worcester County, Charles County, Department of Legislative Services  
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/jr    

First Reader - March 17, 2003 
 
 

 
Analysis by:  Hiram L. Burch Jr.  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 
 




