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Vehicle Laws - For-Rent Vehicles - Rental Fee 
 

 
This bill imposes a $5 fee for each motor vehicle rented, excluding vehicles that 
construction companies and funeral homes rent to another person.  The fee is paid by the 
motor vehicle renter.  The fee must be separately stated on the rental agreement and is not 
subject to tax.  The bill directs the Comptroller to forward, at the end of each quarter, 
50% of the fees to counties and municipalities, in accordance with State highway user 
revenue requirements.  The Comptroller must adopt regulations to administer and collect 
the fee and otherwise enforce the bill. 
 
The bill takes effect July 1, 2004 and terminates June 30, 2009. 
 
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) revenues would increase by 
approximately $14.3 million annually, of which the State will retain $7.1 million; future 
year growth reflects a projected 2.5% growth in vehicle rentals. General fund 
expenditures would increase in FY 2005 only for computer costs. 
 

(in dollars) FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 
SF Revenue $14,253,200 $14,609,600 $14,974,800 $15,349,200 $15,732,900 
GF Expenditure 12,000 0 0 0 0 
Net Effect $14,241,200 $14,609,600 $14,974,800 $15,349,200 $15,732,900 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  Local government revenues, as a share of State fee revenues, would 
increase by $7.1 million in FY 2005. 
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Small Business Effect:  Small businesses that rent vehicles, including moving companies 
and service stations, may incur additional administrative costs.  
 
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  There is currently no “per-transaction” charge on motor vehicle rentals. 
 
Background:  Rentals of passenger cars and multipurpose vehicles are subject to an 
11.5% sales tax, if the vehicle is rented for a period of 180 days or less, the lessor does 
not furnish a driver, and the vehicle is not used for transporting passengers or property for 
hire.  Certain rental trucks are taxed at 8%.  The sales tax on rental vehicles raised 
approximately $23.6 million for the TTF in fiscal 2003. 
 
State Revenues:  This bill could raise approximately $14.3 million per year based on the 
following information and assumptions:  (1) the Maryland Aviation Administration 
reports that there were approximately 950,216 vehicle rental transactions at BWI Airport 
in 2003; and (2) it is assumed that BWI rentals reflect approximately one-third of total 
vehicle rental transactions in Maryland.  Accordingly, if the $5 fee was assessed on 2.9 
million total transactions, revenues could total $14,253,240. 
 
It is further assumed that demand for vehicle rentals – whether for business or personal 
travel, or as a replacement for a vehicle in a repair shop – is relatively inelastic and would 
not decline as a result of the $5 per transaction fee.  Out-year revenue increases assume a 
2.5% increase in rentals. 
 
State Expenditures:  The Comptroller’s Office advises that it would incur 
approximately $12,000 annually in programming costs to collect the fee.  The 
Comptroller advises that it can administer the tax with existing personnel resources; 
however, it may divert audit personnel from other tax programs. 
 
Local Government Revenues:  Local governments will receive half of the revenues 
raised by the fee, or approximately $7.1 million in fiscal 2005. 
 
Additional Comments:  The Comptroller’s Office interprets the bill’s language to apply 
a $5 fee to each rental vehicle, rather than to each rental transaction.  Under that 
interpretation, the level of revenues raised would be much lower (approximately 
$356,400).  The bill’s language should be amended to clarify the application of the fee. 
 
 



HB 710 / Page 3 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  HB 142 was introduced in the 2003 session and heard by the Ways 
and Means Committee, which took no action.  HB 142 proposed a $3 fee rather than $5 
and did not provide any exemptions or local distributions. 
 
Cross File:  None. 
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Transportation, Comptroller’s Office, 
Department of Legislative Services 
 
Fiscal Note History:  
lc/mdr 

First Reader - February 29, 2004 
 

 
Analysis by:  Ann Marie Maloney  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 
 




