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This bill requires the Maryland State Board of Education (SBE) and the Professional 
Standards and Teacher Education Board (PSTEB) to develop regulations to certify school 
social workers. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  No effect in FY 2005.  SBE special fund revenues could increase by 
$2,500 in FY 2006 to reflect the implementation of a five-year SBE licensing fee for 
certificated school social workers.  Future year revenues reflect an estimated five new 
school social workers paying the certification fee annually and the five-year renewal 
cycle.  State expenditures would not be affected. 
 

(in dollars) FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 
SF Revenue $0 $2,500 $100 $100 $100 
Expenditure $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 
Net Effect $0 $2,500 $100 $100 $100 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  A person must be licensed by the State Board of Social Work Examiners 
before the person may practice social work in the State.  A person must be licensed as a 
certified social worker-clinical before the person may practice clinical social work in the 
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State.  These requirements do not apply to an individual employed by an agency of the 
federal government while performing the duties of that job, unless the person chooses to 
apply for a license. 
 
SBE and PSTEB must develop rules and regulations for certifying teachers and other 
professional personnel.  A maximum $10 fee may be imposed for issuing or renewing a 
teacher certificate. 
 
Background:  Nine local school systems in Maryland employ social workers to assist 
public school students.  As of October 2003, there were 249 social workers employed by 
local school systems with over two-thirds of them working in Baltimore City.  Exhibit 1 
shows the number of school social workers by local school system for calendar 2001 
through 2003.  In addition, there are 11,712 social workers licensed by the Board of 
Social Work Examiners. 
 
SBE and PSTEB certification would allow a licensed social worker to:  (1) perform the 
same tests conducted in private practice in a school; (2) advance professionally within 
SBE; and (3) “be qualified” by a statewide standard for eligibility in the “No Child Left 
Behind” program. 
 
 

Exhibit 1 
School Social Workers Employed by 

Local Boards of Education 
 

County 2001 2002 2003 

Allegany 1 1 2 

Anne Arundel 11 11 11 

Baltimore City 168 174 168 

Baltimore 27 34 36 

Frederick 14 15 9 

Kent 2 2 0 

Montgomery 11 13 16 

Prince George’s 2 2 4 

Talbot 11 8 1 

Wicomico    2    2    2 

Total 249 262 249 
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State Fiscal Effect:  The bill authorizes SBE and PSTEB to adopt regulations to certify 
school social workers.  The Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) indicates 
that regulations and the certification process would be in place for the 2005-2006 school 
year.  MSDE currently imposes a $10 fee to certify teachers for a five-year certificate.  
Assuming MSDE imposes the current $10 certification fee on all school social workers, 
special fund revenues could increase by $2,490 in fiscal 2006.  It is assumed that the 
number of certificated school social workers will remain relatively constant and that only 
five new individuals would seek certification annually.  MSDE and PSTEB can develop 
the regulations and certification process with existing resources. 
 
School social workers must still have a State Board of Social Work Examiners license. 
 
Additional Comments:  A departmental bill (HB 156) has been introduced in the 2004 
session that would increase, from $10 to $75, the maximum fee that MSDE can impose 
for the issuance and renewal of certificates for teachers and other professional personnel.  
The fees charged must equal the cost of issuing and renewing the certifications.  
Assuming this legislation is enacted and MSDE imposes the maximum $75 certification 
fee, special fund revenues could total $18,675 in fiscal 2006, instead of $2,490. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.  
 
Cross File:  None.  
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland Association of Boards of Education, Department of 
Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of Legislative Services  
 
Fiscal Note History:  
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