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  Queen Anne's County - Special Maryland Wine Licensing Privilege 
 

 
This bill authorizes the Queen Anne’s County Board of License Commissioners to issue a 
special Maryland wine license privilege to a holder of a Class B (on-sale) beer and wine 
license or any beer, wine, and liquor license.  The special Maryland wine license 
privilege authorizes the licensee to sell bottled wine for consumption off the premises 
(off-sale privilege).  The annual fee for a special Maryland wine license privilege is $100. 
 
The bill takes effect June 1, 2004.   
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  None.  
  
Local Effect:  Queen Anne’s County revenues would increase by $100 for each special 
Maryland wine license privilege issued.  County expenditures would not be affected.  
  
Small Business Effect:  Minimal.  Small businesses in Queen Anne’s County that are 
holders of a Class B (on-sale) beer and wine license or any Class B; Class C; or Class D 
beer, wine, and liquor license would be positively impacted due to the ability to sell 
bottles of wine to their customers. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Generally, Class B beer and wine licensees and Class B beer, wine, and 
liquor licensees are authorized to keep for sale and sell at retail any alcoholic beverages 
that they are licensed to sell on the licensed premises or elsewhere as authorized by the 
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local board of license commissioners.  However, most jurisdictions in Maryland 
expressly prohibit Class B beer and wine licensees and Class B beer, wine, and liquor 
licensees from selling alcoholic beverages for off-premises consumption.  Additionally, 
most jurisdictions in Maryland, with limited exceptions, expressly prohibit Class C beer, 
wine, and liquor licensees and Class D beer, wine, and liquor licensees from selling 
alcoholic beverages for off-premises consumption.  Conversely, all Class A licensees in 
Maryland are only authorized for off-sale privileges. 
 
In Queen Anne’s County, restaurants with a Class B beer, wine, and liquor license; clubs 
with a Class C beer, wine, and liquor license; and taverns with a Class D beer, wine, and 
liquor license are authorized to sell beer for off-premises consumption. 
 
There is no provision of law authorizing the Queen Anne’s County Board of License 
Commissioners to issue a special Maryland wine license privilege similar to the proposed 
Queen Anne’s County special Maryland wine license privilege that would permit the sale 
of bottles of wine for off-premises consumption.  In Maryland, only Kent County offers a 
similar Maryland wine license privilege to its licensees. 
 
Background:  According to the Comptroller of Maryland, as of April 30, 2003, in Queen 
Anne’s County there were 9 Class B (on-sale) beer and wine licensees and 43 Class B, 
Class C, and Class D licensees with beer, wine, and liquor privileges.  All 52 of these 
licensees would be eligible to obtain a special Maryland wine license.  It is currently 
unknown how many Class B (on-sale) beer and wine licensees or Class B, C, and D beer, 
wine, and liquor licensees in Queen Anne’s County would obtain a special Maryland 
wine license. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.        
 
Cross File:  HB 134 (Delegate Sossi, et al.) – Economic Matters.    
 
Information Source(s):  Queen Anne’s County, Department of Legislative Services                  
 
Fiscal Note History:  
mh/ljm    

First Reader - January 22, 2004 
 

 
Analysis by:  Christopher J. Kelter  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 
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