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Transportation - State Highways - Roadside Solicitation 
 

 
This bill prohibits a person from standing in a roadway, median divider, or intersection of 
a State highway to solicit money or donations from an occupant of a vehicle.  A person 
who violates this prohibition is guilty of a misdemeanor and, if convicted, is subject to a 
$500 fine for a first offense and a $700 fine for a second offense.  A person who commits 
a third or subsequent offense faces a $1,000 fine or imprisonment for not less than four 
consecutive weekends nor more than 12, or both.  The bill also states that roadway 
solicitation that is now prohibited in Charles, Harford, and Washington counties applies 
only to county roadways. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Potentially minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures 
due to the bill’s penalty provisions. 
  
Local Effect:  Potential increase in revenues and expenditures due to the bill’s penalty 
provisions.  The impact will vary by jurisdiction and will likely be significant in certain 
areas.  
 
Small Business Effect:  Minimal or none.  
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Except for the occupant of a disabled vehicle who seeks the aid of 
another vehicle, a person is prohibited from standing in a roadway to solicit a ride, 
employment, or business from an occupant of a vehicle.  Further, a person is prohibited 
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from standing on or near a highway to solicit any other person to guard any vehicle while 
it is parked or about to be parked. 
 
In Charles, Harford, and Washington counties, a person may not stand in a roadway, 
median divider, or intersection to solicit money or donations of any kind from the 
occupant of a vehicle.  A county road means any public highway that is not a State 
highway or located in Baltimore City and for which the title to, or easement for, is vested 
in a public body or government agency.  
 
In Prince George’s County, a child under 15 years old is prohibited from standing in a 
roadway, median divider, or intersection in Prince George’s County to solicit money or 
donations of any kind from the occupant of a vehicle.  Further, in Prince George’s 
County, an adult may not cause, encourage, permit, or petition a child under 15 years old 
to engage in such activity. 
 
Violators are subject to a fine of up to $500 if convicted of soliciting under these 
provisions.  However, the prepaid penalty established by the District Court for payment 
of a fine without appearing in court for these violations is $55. 
 
Background:  State laws governing solicitation on highways vary.  Louisiana prohibits 
the “intentional act of soliciting, begging, panhandling, or otherwise requesting anything 
of value” on an interstate highway and imposes a fine of up to $200 or imprisonment for 
up to six months or both for violations. 
 
Certain states authorize roadway solicitation with the permission of the local jurisdiction 
or for certain nonprofit organizations who solicit funds for charitable causes.  Idaho law, 
passed in 2001, authorizes local governments to issue permits for up to one year for 
organizations such as the Professional Firefighters “Fill the Boot” benefit for the 
Muscular Dystrophy Association.  Oregon enacted a law in 1999 that bars solicitation on 
or near a highway but exempts fire service professionals if they prove they have adequate 
liability insurance and a plan for safe solicitation.  A permit from the state transportation 
department is required. 
 
State Revenues:  General fund revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
monetary penalty provisions from cases heard in the District Court.  The Department of 
State Police (DSP) advises that solicitation, particularly by nonprofit organizations, 
occurs mainly on county roads in populated areas such as Prince George’s, Baltimore, 
and Howard counties.  State enforcement is not expected to be significant; however, DSP 
anticipates local enforcement in those areas will be substantial.  
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State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures could increase minimally as a result of 
the bill’s incarceration penalty due to increased payments to counties for reimbursement 
of inmate costs and more people being committed to Division of Correction (DOC) 
facilities.  The number of people convicted of this proposed crime is expected to be 
minimal. 
 
Generally, persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than 
Baltimore City are sentenced to a local detention facility.  The State reimburses counties 
for part of their incarceration costs, on a per diem basis, after a person has served 90 
days.  State per diem reimbursements for fiscal 2005 are estimated to range from $14 to 
$58 per inmate depending upon the jurisdiction.  Persons sentenced to such a term in 
Baltimore City are generally incarcerated in a DOC facility.  Currently, the DOC average 
total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at $1,850 per month.  This bill 
alone, however, should not create the need for additional beds, personnel, or facilities.  
Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new DOC inmate (including medical 
care and variable costs) is $350 per month. 
 
Local Revenues:  Revenues could increase moderately as a result of the bill’s monetary 
penalty provisions from cases heard in the circuit courts. 
 
Local Expenditures:  Expenditures could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
incarceration penalty.  Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for the first 90 days of 
the sentence, plus part of the per diem cost after 90 days.  Per diem operating costs of 
local detention facilities are expected to range from $29 to $97 per inmate in fiscal 2005. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.  
 
Cross File:  None. 
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of State 
Police, Department of Legislative Services  
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/jr    

First Reader - January 19, 2004 
 

 
Analysis by:  Ann Marie Maloney  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 
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