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This bill repeals the requirement that public schools be open for a minimum of 180 days 
and 1,080 school hours during a 10-month period.  Local boards of education would 
determine the minimum number of school days and hours in a school year.  Public 
schools can be open on Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays to fulfill the minimum day or 
hour requirements set by the local board. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  State funding for public schools would not be affected by this legislation.  
The Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) can monitor local school systems 
with existing resources. 
  
Local Effect:  Local school expenditures for transportation, food service, and school 
building operations could be affected by altering the number of days that public schools 
must be open. 
  
Small Business Effect:  Minimal. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Public schools must be open for at least 180 days and 1,080 school hours 
at the elementary and middle school levels, or 1,170 school hours at the high school level.  
Under certain conditions (a natural disaster, civil disaster, or severe weather conditions), 
public schools only have to meet the minimum hours requirement.  Public schools may 
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not be open on Saturdays, Sundays, or holidays in order to meet the minimum days or 
hours requirements.  In case of an emergency, the State Board of Education may open 
public schools on holidays.  Public school holidays are listed in Exhibit 1.  Calvert, 
Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Talbot, and Worcester counties may remain open and in 
session on primary and general election days.  In addition, the State Board of Education 
is required to divide the school year into the terms it considers appropriate. 
 
 

Exhibit 1 
Public School Holidays 

 
Thanksgiving Day and the day after 
Christmas Eve through January 1 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day 
Presidents’ Day 
Good Friday through Easter Monday 
Memorial Day 
Primary and General Election Days 

 
 
Background:  The State Superintendent of Schools monitors the impact of school 
closings due to inclement weather and other emergencies.  Through ongoing 
conversations with local school officials, the State Superintendent is able to ascertain the 
scheduling needs of local school systems while ensuring that instructional times for 
students remain adequate. 
 
On September 23, 2003, the State Board of Education, upon a recommendation of the 
State Superintendent of Schools, decided to grant a one-day waiver of the 180-day school 
requirement to all local school systems based upon the severe weather conditions of 
hurricane Isabel and the state of emergency declared by the Governor. 
 
Several local school systems (Carroll, Garrett, Prince George’s, and Washington) have 
inquired about adding instructional time for their students and requested State board 
approval to open schools on certain State holidays.  Each request was reviewed and 
approved.  Carroll, Howard, and St. Mary’s counties have each requested an additional 
waiver of either one or two days.  At the State board meeting in February 2004, these 
individual requests were reviewed.  The State board deferred each of the requests and 
gave the State Superintendent of Schools the authority to waive one additional day after 
the winter is over, if the local school system makes the request and has demonstrated a 
good faith effort to schedule additional days to make up for the time lost. 
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Minimum Requirements in Other States 
 
Most states require a minimum number of days in a school year; however, local school 
systems usually retain the discretion to set the school year’s start and end dates.  
According to a 2000 report by the Education Commission of the States, 31 states require 
a minimum of 180 teacher-pupil contact days; 8 states require a minimum of 175 days, 
and 7 states have set varying requirements from 174 to 190 days.  Four states do not 
require a minimum number of days but do require a minimum number of hours, 
depending upon the students’ grade level, with the number of hours increasing from 
kindergarten through secondary grades.  
 
Local Fiscal Effect:  Local school systems spent approximately $7.8 billion in fiscal 
2001, of which 12% went for transportation, food services, and operation of school 
buildings.  Enabling local school systems to reduce the number of days that public 
schools must remain open could result in a minimal reduction in certain school 
expenditures. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.  
 
Cross File:  None.  
 
Information Source(s):  Education Commission of the States, Maryland State 
Department of Education, Department of Legislative Services  
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/ljm    
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