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Environmental Matters     
 

Motor Vehicle Administration - Miscellaneous Fees 
 

 
This departmental bill alters the requirements for the level of miscellaneous fees charged 
by the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to include the cost of the annual average 
capital budget (as reported in the six-year consolidated transportation program (CTP)) in 
determining the maximum fee.  It also permits the MVA to create and charge a fee for 
persons who fail to keep appointments made for noncommercial driver testing.  
 
The bill takes effect July 1, 2004. 
 
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) revenues would increase by $17.4 
million in FY 2005 through increased fees.  Future years reflect increased operating 
costs.  TTF revenues will also increase slightly due to the fee authorized for missed 
driver’s tests.  Potential increase in TTF expenditures in FY 2005 only for computer 
programming changes. 
 

($ in millions) FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009 
SF Revenue $17.4 $21.1 $21.1 $21.1 $21.1 
SF Expenditure - 0 0 0 0 
Net Effect $17.4 $21.1 $21.1 $21.1 $21.1 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in fees for local governments related to vehicle 
fleets. 
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Small Business Effect:  The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) has 
determined that this bill has minimal or no impact on small business (attached).  
Legislative Services concurs with this assessment, as discussed below. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  The MVA must recover between 95% and 100% of its operating costs 
through the establishment of miscellaneous fees, which consists of all fees that it charges 
except vehicle titling tax and registration fees.  Operating costs are defined as the 
approved operating budget for that fiscal year and the MVA’s portion of the cost for that 
fiscal year of MDOT’s data center operations, except for the cost of operations 
attributable to other administrations’ activities.  Examples of miscellaneous fees include 
those for a new or renewed driver’s license, reinstatement of revoked driving privileges, 
security interest filings, and licenses for transportation-related businesses such as vehicle 
dealers, drivers’ schools, and title service agents. 
 
The MVA may not alter miscellaneous fees more than once in any fiscal year or reduce 
fees for the upcoming fiscal year if legislative budget modifications cause the projected 
cost recovery percentage to exceed 100%. 
 
State law does not authorize the MVA to charge a fee for a missed driver’s test.  
Applicants for a commercial driver’s license must pay a fee for a required skills test ($40) 
or a skills retest ($20). 
 
Background:  The MVA last raised its miscellaneous fees in 2001.  Under the current 
formula, miscellaneous fees will have to be increased again by $3.7 million in fiscal 2006 
to recover costs.  In fiscal 2003, the MVA collected $190.7 million in miscellaneous fees; 
following deductions for various funds, net miscellaneous fee revenue was $129.8 
million.  There are approximately 30 authorized fees, in addition to 25 occupational 
license fees and various administrative fees.  Many of them relate to driver’s licenses or 
learner’s permits.  Below is a comparison of driver renewal costs among Maryland and 
neighboring states.  Renewal fees account for 13% to 16% of all miscellaneous fee 
revenue. 
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Driver’s License Renewal Costs in States Surrounding Maryland 
 

 
 

State 

Cost of Renewing 
Regular Driver’s 

License 

 
 

Length of Validity 
   

Maryland $30 5 years 
Pennsylvania $26 4 years 
New Jersey $24 4 years 
Virginia $20 5 years 
West Virginia $13 5 years 
Delaware $12.50 5 years 

 
State Revenues:  Miscellaneous fee revenues would increase by $17.4 million in fiscal 
2005 and $21.1 million annually thereafter.  This estimate is based on $133.1 million of 
capital costs for the MVA over six years in the fiscal 2004-2009 CTP, which averages 
$22.8 million per year.  It assumes that:  (1) the MVA will recover 95% of $22.8 million 
($21.1 million) each year after fiscal 2005; and (2) the MVA will need less funds to 
recoup 95% of its operating costs in fiscal 2005, because it has an existing balance of 
$3.7 million.  The amount of the actual increase for individual fees cannot be estimated at 
this time, but MDOT estimates it could be approximately 15%. 
 
TTF revenues will further increase due to the bill’s authorization of a fee for missed 
driver’s tests.  The MVA advises that it administered 150,000 noncommercial driver’s 
tests during fiscal 2003; however, it does not track the number of failed appointments.  
Under one scenario, annual revenues would increase by $150,000 if the MVA charges a 
$20 missed test fee, and 5% of all appointments (7,500) are canceled or no-shows.  
 
State Expenditures:  TTF expenditures could increase by as much as $153,375 in fiscal 
2005, which includes in-house and vendor costs to adjust computer software for fee 
changes and for the missed driver’s test fee.  The Department of Legislative Services 
advises that if other legislation is passed requiring computer reprogramming changes, 
economies of scale could be realized.  This would reduce the costs associated with this 
bill and other legislation affecting the MVA system. 
 
Small Business Effect:  Small businesses that purchase vehicle fleets (e.g., taxi and 
delivery services) will be affected by the bill to the extent they may pay higher fees for 
title certificates and security interest filings.  Self-employed commercial drivers may also 
face slightly higher costs, as well as small businesses that pay MVA for a license to 
operate.  Current annual license fees range from $250 for a used car dealer to $50 for a 
trailer dealer.  Title service agents are predominantly small businesses but only pay a 
$62.50 license fee annually. 
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Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None. 
 
Cross File:  None. 
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of 
Legislative Services 
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/jr    

First Reader - January 26, 2004 
Revised - Updated Information - January 26, 2004 
 

 
Analysis by:  Ann Marie Maloney  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 
 




