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Washington County - Special Wine Tasting License and Alcohol Awareness
Program

This bill authorizes the Washington County Board of Liquor License Commissioners to
issue a special wine tasting license to the holder of a Class B (on-off sale) beer, wine, and
liquor license. The hill also provides that in Washington County an alcoholic beverages
licensee or a person who is employed in a supervisory capacity designated by the licensee
must be certified by an approved alcohol awareness program and must be present during
the hours which alcoholic beverages may be sold. A person certified by an approved
alcohol awareness program may be absent from the licensed premises for a bona fide
personal or business reason or an emergency if the absence lasts no more than two hours.
The licensee is required to keep alog of such absences.

The bill takes effect June 1, 2004.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: None.
Local Effect: Washington County revenues would increase by $200 for each special
wine tasting license issued. Any additional monitoring of licensees could be handled

with existing resources.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.




Analysis

Current Law: The Washington County Board of Liquor License Commissioners is
authorized to issue a special wine tasting license to the holder of a Class A (off-sale)
beer, wine, and liquor license. The special wine tasting license authorizes the holder to
hold 12 events every year. The fee for a specia wine tasting license is $200.

The holder of any class of retail acoholic beverages license or an employee designated
by the licensee must complete training in an approved alcohol awareness program every
four years.

In Harford, Howard, Kent, and Montgomery counties the licensee or person employed in
a supervisory capacity must be certified by an approved alcohol awareness program and
must be present during the hours in which alcohol may be sold. However, in Howard and
Kent counties, a person certified by an approved alcohol awareness program may be
absent from the licensed premises for a bona fide personal or business reason or an
emergency if the absence lasts no more than two hours; the licensee must maintain a log
of all absences. Additionally, in Baltimore City, the owner of a bottle club or person
employed in a supervisory capacity at a bottle club must be certified by an approved
alcohol awareness program and must be present during the hours in which alcohol is
served or consumed.

Background: Washington County issued 162 alcoholic beverages licenses in fisca
2003.

According to the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax Division of the Comptroller’s Office there
were 24 alcohol awareness programs and 275 acohol awareness instructors approved in
fiscal 2003.

Health Communications, Inc., a leading provider of certified instructors for acohol
awareness programs, advises that instructors set their own rates for providing instruction
in alcohol awareness. The company further advises that an individual can expect to pay a
minimum of $35 for the program and that a course typically lasts five hours.

Local Fiscal Effect: Washington County advises that approximately 12 hotels in the
county that hold a Class B (on-off sale) beer, wine, and liquor license are interested in
holding wine tasting events. Accordingly, Washington County revenues would increase
by $2,400 annually.
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Additional | nfor mation
Prior Introductions. None.
CrossFilee None.

Information Source(s): Washington County, Comptroller's Office, Department of
Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 3, 2004
ncyjr Revised - Enrolled Bill - May 6, 2004

Analysisby: Christopher J. Kelter Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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