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Criminal Procedure - Crimes of Violence - Child Abuse 
 

 
This bill adds the crime of first degree child abuse to the list of crimes of violence under 
mandatory sentencing provisions applicable to crimes of violence.   
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Minimal.  While this bill could result in additional incarceration penalty 
enhancements (mandatory minimums), more time served before parole eligibility, and 
longer incarceration terms for certain parole revocations, it is not expected to have a 
significant impact on overall incarceration costs for the Division of Correction.  Any 
impact on the Maryland Parole Commission could be handled with existing budgeted 
resources. 
 
Local Effect:  None. 
 
Small Business Effect:  None. 
 
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Upon conviction for a fourth time of a crime of violence, a person who 
has served three separate terms of confinement in a correctional facility as a result of 
three separate convictions of any crime of violence must be sentenced to life 
imprisonment without the possibility of parole.  Upon conviction for a third time of a 
crime of violence, a person must be sentenced to imprisonment for the term allowed by 
law but not less than 25 years, if the person:  (1) has been convicted of a crime of 
violence on two prior separate occasions in which the second or succeeding crime is 
committed after there has been a charging document filed for the preceding occasion, and 
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for which the convictions do not arise from a single incident; and (2) has served at least 
one term of confinement in a correctional facility as a result of a conviction of a crime of 
violence. 
 
A court may not suspend all or part of the mandatory 25-year sentence required under 
these provisions.  A person sentenced under these provisions is not eligible for parole 
except in accordance with the provisions applicable to persons at the Patuxent Institution. 
 
Upon conviction for a second time of a crime of violence committed on or after October 
1, 1994, a person must be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of at least 10 years, if 
the person:  (1) has been convicted on a prior occasion of a crime of violence, including a 
conviction for a crime committed before October 1, 1994; and (2) served a term of 
confinement in a correctional facility for that conviction.  A court may not suspend all or 
part of this mandatory 10-year sentence. 
 
If the State intends to proceed against a person as a subsequent offender under these 
provisions, it must comply with the procedures set forth in the Maryland Rules for the 
indictment and trial of a subsequent offender. 
 
A person sentenced under these provisions may petition to be granted parole if the person 
is at least 65 years old and has served at least 15 years of the sentence imposed under 
these provisions.  These provisions do not apply if a person is sentenced to death.   
 
Under these mandatory sentencing provisions, “crime of violence” means:  
 

• abduction; 

• arson in the first degree; 

• kidnapping; 

• manslaughter, except involuntary manslaughter; 

• mayhem; 

• maiming; 

• murder; 

• rape; 

• robbery; 

• carjacking; 

• armed carjacking; 

• sexual offense in the first degree; 

• sexual offense in the second degree; 
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• use of a handgun in the commission of a felony or other crime of violence; 

• an attempt to commit any of the above crimes; 

• assault in the first degree; 

• assault with intent to murder; 

• assault with intent to rape; 

• assault with intent to rob; 

• assault with intent to commit a first degree sexual offense; and  

• assault with intent to commit a second degree sexual offense. 
 
For purposes of parole eligibility, a violent crime means all of the above cited crimes of 
violence as well as first, second, or third degree burglary.  A person sentenced to a term 
of incarceration of six months or more is entitled to a parole hearing after having served 
one-fourth of the term or consecutive terms.  A person sentenced to more than one term, 
including a term during which the person is eligible for parole and a term during which 
the person is not eligible for parole, cannot be considered for parole unless the person has 
served the greater of one-fourth of the aggregate term or a period equal to the term during 
which the inmate is not eligible for parole. 
 
A person convicted of a violent crime is not eligible for parole until that person has 
served the greater of one-half of the aggregate sentence for violent crimes, one-half of the 
aggregate total sentence, or a period equal to the term during which the inmate is not 
eligible for parole.  Currently, a person serving a term for a violent crime may receive an 
administrative review after that person has served one-fourth of the term of confinement 
or a period equal to any term in which the inmate is not eligible for parole.  Further, a 
person sentenced to life imprisonment is not eligible for parole consideration until that 
person has served 15 years.  A person sentenced to life imprisonment for first degree 
murder is not eligible for parole consideration until that person has served 25 years. 
 
If a parole order is revoked, the inmate must serve the remainder of the sentence 
originally imposed unless, at the parole commissioner’s discretion, the inmate is granted 
credit for time between the parole release and revocation.  An inmate may not receive 
such credit if:  (1) the inmate was serving a sentence for a violent crime when the parole 
was revoked; and (2) the revocation was due to a finding that the inmate committed a 
violent crime while on parole. 
 
Chapter 167 of 2003 established the crimes of child abuse in the first and second degrees, 
established terms of imprisonment for those crimes, and increased the maximum term of 
imprisonment for a person who causes sexual abuse to a minor. 
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The Act provides that a parent or other person who has permanent or temporary care, 
custody, or responsibility for the supervision of a minor may not cause abuse resulting in 
severe physical injury or death to the minor.  A violator is guilty of the felony of child 
abuse in the first degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 25 
years or, if the violation results in the death of the victim, imprisonment not exceeding 30 
years.  A person who violates the child abuse laws after being convicted of a prior 
violation of the same provisions is guilty of a felony and is subject to imprisonment for 
up to 25 years.  If the violation results in the death of the victim, the violator is subject to 
imprisonment for up to 30 years. 
 
“Abuse” means a physical injury sustained by a minor as a result of cruel or inhumane 
treatment or as a result of a malicious act under circumstances that indicate the minor’s 
health or welfare is harmed or threatened.  “Severe physical injury” means a brain injury 
or bleeding within the skull, starvation, or physical injury that creates a substantial risk of 
death or causes permanent or protracted serious disfigurement or loss or impairment of 
the function of any bodily member or organ.   
 
A sentence imposed for child abuse may be separate from and consecutive to or 
concurrent with a sentence for any crime based on the act that establishes the abuse 
violation. 
 
Background:  In fiscal 2003, the Division of Correction had an intake of 49 persons 
convicted of child abuse, with an average sentence of 74 months.  It is not known how 
many of these offenders would be subject to mandatory minimum sentencing under the 
provisions of this bill.  It is also not known whether classifying the covered offense as a 
crime of violence would affect prosecutorial or sentencing practices. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None. 
 
Cross File:  None. 
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services 
(Maryland Parole Commission, Division of Correction), Department of Legislative 
Services 
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Fiscal Note History:  
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First Reader - March 4, 2004 
Revised - House Third Reader - March 26, 2004 
 

 
Analysis by:  Guy G. Cherry  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 
 




