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Judicial Proceedings

Criminal Law - Manslaughter by Vehicle or Vessel - Criminal Negligence

This bill makes it a crime for a person to cause the death of another as a result of the
person’s driving, operating, or controlling a vehicle or vessel in a criminally negligent
manner. A violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to maximum penalties of
imprisonment for three years and/or a fine of $5,000. A violation is criminally negligent
manslaughter by vehicle or vessel. A vehicle includes a motor vehicle, streetcar,
locomotive, engine, and train.

For purposes of this prohibition, a person acts in a criminally negligent manner with
respect to a result or a circumstance when the person fails to perceive a substantial and
unjustifiable risk that such a result will occur or that such a circumstance exists. The risk
must be of such a nature and degree that the failure to perceive it constitutes a gross
deviation from the standard of care that a reasonable person would observe in the
situation.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures due
to the bill’s penalty provisions.

Local Effect: Potential minimal increase in local fund revenues and expenditures due to
the bill’s penalty provisions.

Small Business Effect: None.



Analysis

Current Law: A person may not cause the death of another as a result of the person’s
driving, operating, or controlling a vehicle or vessel in a grossly negligent manner. A
violator is guilty of a felony and subject to maximum penalties of imprisonment for 10
years and/or a fine of $5,000. A violation is manslaughter by vehicle or vessel. A
vehicle includes a motor vehicle, streetcar, locomotive, engine, and train.

Gross negligence has been held to be a wanton or reckless disregard for human life.

Background: Chapter 414 of 1941 created the crime of manslaughter by automobile as a
misdemeanor. Chapters 372 and 373 of 1997 changed the crime from a misdemeanor to
a felony.

In 1993 in Albrecht v. State (97 Md.App. 630, 632 A.2d 163), the court held that both
common-law manslaughter and statutory crime of manslaughter by automobile involve
the same quality of gross criminal negligence.

This bill’s provisions are the same as those provided under the Model Penal Code. At
least 13 states have identical provisions to those provided under this bill: Alabama,
Alaska, Colorado, Louisiana, Maine, Missouri, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania,
Texas, Utah, and Wyoming.

State Revenues: General fund revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s
monetary penalty provision from cases heard in the District Court.

State Expenditures: General fund expenditures could increase minimally as a result of
the bill’s incarceration penalty due to more people being committed to Division of
Correction (DOC) facilities and increased payments to counties for reimbursement of
inmate costs. The number of people convicted of this proposed crime is expected to be
minimal.

Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in DOC facilities.
Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at $1,850
per month. This bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional beds,
personnel, or facilities. Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new DOC
inmate (including medical care and variable costs) is $310 per month. Excluding medical
care, the average variable costs total $120 per month.

Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than Baltimore City
are sentenced to local detention facilities. For persons sentenced to a term of between 12
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and 18 months, the sentencing judge has the discretion to order that the sentence be
served at a local facility or DOC. The State reimburses counties for part of their
incarceration costs, on a per diem basis, after a person has served 90 days. State per diem
reimbursements for fiscal 2006 are estimated to range from $17 to $65 per inmate
depending upon the jurisdiction. Persons sentenced to such a term in Baltimore City are
generally incarcerated in DOC facilities. The Baltimore City Detention Center, a State-
operated facility, is used primarily for pretrial detentions.

Local Revenues: Revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s monetary
penalty provision from cases heard in the circuit courts.

Local Expenditures: Expenditures could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s
incarceration penalty. Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for people in their
facilities for the first 90 days of the sentence, plus part of the per diem cost after 90 days.
Per diem operating costs of local detention facilities are expected to range from $33 to
$119 per inmate in fiscal 2006.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: HB 137 (Delegate Simmons, et al.) — Judiciary.

Information Source(s): Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services,
Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 2, 2005
ncs/jr

Analysis by: Guy G. Cherry Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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