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Environment - Lead-Contaminated Dust Testing and Inspections - Related Party

This bill prohibits an owner of affected property from employing or engaging a related
party to the owner to perform lead-contaminated dust testing or conduct inspections
required under the Reduction of Lead Risk in Housing subtitle administered by the
Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE). MDE must impose an administrative
penalty of up to $25,000 on any person who violates that prohibition or the provision in
current law providing that any person performing dust testing or conducting inspections
may not be a related party to the owner of affected property.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential increase in special fund revenues due to the bill’s administrative
penalty provision. Any such increase cannot be reliably estimated at this time but is not
anticipated to be significant. No effect on expenditures.

Local Effect: None.
Small Business Effect: Minimal.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]
Analysis

Current Law: Any person performing lead-contaminated dust testing or conducting
inspections may not be a related party to the owner. A person who violates this provision
is subject to an administrative penalty of up to $250 per day, if the violation is not cured
within 20 days after receipt of notice of the violation by the owner.



All penalties imposed under the Reduction of Lead Risk in Housing subtitle are paid into
the Lead Poisoning Prevention Fund.

Background: Chapter 114 of 1994 established the Lead Paint Poisoning Prevention
Program in MDE. The program provides limited liability relief for owners of rental
property built before 1950 and others in exchange for the reduction of lead hazards in
these older rental properties. The program also provides for limited compensation to
children who are poisoned by lead.

By December 31, 1995, the owner of an affected property must have registered that
property with MDE. An owner who first acquires affected property after that date must
register the property within 30 days of acquisition. At each change in occupancy, before
the next tenant occupies the property, an owner must satisfy the risk reduction standard
by passing the test for lead contaminated dust or performing specified lead hazard
reduction treatments.

MDE accredits lead abatement services providers. Currently, there are 553 accredited
providers.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of the Environment, Department of
Housing and Community Development, Department of Legislative Services
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