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Anne Arundel County - Alcoholic Beverages - Class A Wine Licenses

This bill adds Anne Arundel County to the list of counties in which a holder of a Class 3
manufacturer’s license (winery), or a Class 4 manufacturer’s license (limited winery)
may also hold a Class A light wine license.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None.

Local Effect: County revenues could increase by $50 for each Class A light wine license
issued. Expenditures would not be affected.

Small Business Effect: Potential meaningful positive impact for future Class 3 and 4
license holders in Anne Arundel County.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]
Analysis

Current Law: Thirteen counties (Baltimore, Calvert, Carroll, Dorchester, Frederick,
Garrett, Harford, Montgomery, Queen Anne’s, St. Mary’s, Somerset, Talbot, and
Washington) are authorized to issue a Class A light wine license to holders of a Class 4
limited winery license. Seven counties (Baltimore, Frederick, Garrett, Harford,
Somerset, Talbot, and Washington) are currently authorized to issue a Class A light wine
license to holders of a Class 3 winery license.



Holders of either Class 3 or 4 manufacturer’s licenses are authorized to sell no more than
one quart of wine per year to an individual participating in a guided tour of the facility.
A Class A light wine license allows the winery to sell, at retail, any amount of wines
produced at the winery.

Background: In Anne Arundel County, light wine may not contain more than 15.5%
alcohol by volume. In fiscal 2004, only nine Class A light wine licenses were issued
statewide. There are currently 16 holders of a Class 4 manufacturer’s license in
Maryland, none of which are in Anne Arundel County; there are no holders of a Class 3
manufacturer’s license in Maryland.

Local Fiscal Effect: In Anne Arundel County, the annual fee for a Class A light wine
license would be $50. Currently, there are no licensed wineries in Anne Arundel County.
However, Anne Arundel County advises that it has had inquiries from two potential
wineries who may wish to apply for this license. Monitoring of any licenses issued under
this authority can be handled with existing resources.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Anne Arundel County, Comptroller’s Office, Department of
Legislative Services
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