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Criminal Procedure - Review of Mandatory Minimum Sentences - Retroactive
Effect

This bill allows a person serving a term of confinement that includes a mandatory
minimum sentence imposed before July 1, 1999 to apply for and receive one review of
the mandatory minimum sentence. Such an application must be made by September 30,
2007.

The bill takes effect October 1, 2006 and terminates September 30, 2007.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal increase or decrease in incarceration expenditures. The
actual impact depends on the number of requests for sentence review filed and whether
sentences are reduced or lengthened.

Local Effect: None.
Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Every person convicted of a crime by a circuit court and sentenced to
serve more than two years imprisonment by a judge is entitled to apply for and have a
single review of that sentence. An application for review must be filed within 30 days of
the sentencing.



A panel of three or more trial judges of the judicial circuit in which the sentencing court
1s located conducts the review. A person has no right to have a sentence reviewed more
than once. The judge who sentenced the convicted person shall not be one of the
members of the panel, but may sit with the panel in an advisory capacity.

If a hearing is held, the panel generally may increase, decrease, or otherwise modify the
sentence by majority rule. However, a mandatory minimum sentence may be decreased
only by a unanimous vote of the panel. Without holding a hearing, the panel may decide
that the sentence under review should remain unchanged. The review panel must file a
written decision within 30 days of the application’s filing date.

In addition, the Maryland Rules provide that a court has revisory power over a sentence
upon a motion filed within 90 days after its imposition: (1) in the District Court, if an
appeal has not been perfected; and (2) in a circuit court, whether or not an appeal has
been filed. Thereafter, the court has revisory power over the sentence in case of fraud,
mistake, or irregularity, or as otherwise provided in the Maryland Rules in cases
concerning desertion and nonsupport of spouse, children, or destitute parents. The court
may not increase a sentence after the sentence has been imposed, except that it may
correct an evident mistake in the announcement of a sentence if the correction is made on
the record before the defendant leaves the courtroom following the sentencing
proceeding. The court may not revise a sentence if more than five years have passed
since the sentence was originally imposed. The court may correct an illegal sentence at
any time.

Appendix 1 lists offenses that carry mandatory minimum sentences.

Background: The Justice Policy Institute reports that in fiscal 2001, sentence review
panels in Maryland decreased 5 sentences, increased 1 sentence, and left 97 sentences
unchanged.

In Cox v. State, 134 Md. App. 465 (2000), the Court of Special Appeals held that there
was no retroactive right to a sentence review. The defendant was convicted of
housebreaking in 1992 and received a mandatory minimum sentence of 25 years. After
several appeals, the defendant applied for a review of sentence by a three-judge panel.
The statute allowing panel review had an effective date of July 1, 1999, and there was no
provision in the statute allowing for retroactive review. His request was denied by the
circuit court and the defendant appealed. The Court of Special Appeals held that there
was no right to retroactive review of sentence due to the presumption against retroactivity
and the General Assembly’s rejection of a bill that would have allowed review of
sentences imposed prior to July 1, 1999.
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State Fiscal Effect: Data is not readily available on the number of people sentenced to
mandatory minimum jail terms prior to July 1, 1999. General fund expenditures could
increase or decrease minimally as a result of changes to inmates’ sentences as provided
by the review panels due to inmates having their sentences lengthened or reduced. The
number of people who would have their sentences changed cannot be reliably predicted,
but is assumed to be small.

Currently, the Division of Correction (DOC) average total cost per inmate, including
overhead, is estimated at $1,974 per month. This bill alone, however, should not create
the need for additional beds, personnel, or facilities. Excluding overhead, the average
cost of housing a new DOC inmate (including medical care and variable costs) is $341
per month.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: HB 35 of 2005 and HB 380 of 2000, both identical bills, received
unfavorable reports from the Judiciary Committee.

Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Office of the
Public Defender; Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services; Maryland State
Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy; Cutting Correctly in Maryland, Justice
Policy Institute, February 20, 2003; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 6, 2006
mll/jr

Analysis by: Amy A. Devadas Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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Appendix 1

Offenses with Mandatory Minimum Sentences

Offense

Weapons

Use of assault pistol or magazine with a capacity of
more than 20 rounds in the commission of a
felony or crime of violence, first offense

Use of assault pistol or magazine with a capacity of
more than 20 rounds in the commission of a
felony or crime of violence, subsequent

Wearing, carrying, or transporting a handgun

Use of handgun or antique firearm in commission of
felony or crime of violence

Illegal possession of a firearm after having been
convicted of a crime of violence or certain drug
crimes

CDS

Drug kingpin
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Source

CR, § 4-306(b)(2)

CR, § 4-306(b)(3)

CR, § 4-203

CR, § 4-204(b)(1)

PS, § 5-133(c)

CR, § 5-613

Level

Misdemeanor

Misdemeanor

Misdemeanor

Misdemeanor

Felony

Felony

Maximum

20 years

20 years

Various — 3 years

20 years

5 years

40 years

Minimum

5 years

10 years

Various — 30
days
5 years

5 years

20 years



Offense

Unlawful manufacture, distribution, etc.;
counterfeiting, etc. of certain equipment for illegal
use; keeping common nuisance, schedule I or II
narcotics (e.g., PCP, heroin, cocaine, and LSD),
subsequent

Volume Dealer

Unlawful manufacture, distribution, etc.;
counterfeiting, etc. of certain equipment for illegal
use; keeping common nuisance, schedule III
through V non-narcotics (e.g., amphetamines,
marijuana, diazepam, and Valium), subsequent

Use of weapon in relation to a drug trafficking
crime, first offense

Use of weapon with a silencer in relation to a drug
trafficking crime, first offense

Use of weapon in relation to a drug trafficking
crime, subsequent

Use of weapon with a silencer in relation to a drug
trafficking crime, subsequent

Murder

First degree, generally

Source
CR, § 5-608(b), (¢), (d)

CR, § 5-612(c)

CR, § 5-607(b)

CR, § 5-621(c)

CR, § 5-621(d)

CR, § 5-621(c)

CR, § 5-621(d)

CR, §2-201(a)

Level
Felony

Felony

Felony

Felony

Felony

Felony

Felony

Felony

Maximum Minimum
2" =20 years 2" =10 years
3" = 25 years

4™ = 40 years

5 years
5 years 2 years
20 years 5 years
20 years 10 years
20 years 10 years
20 years 20 years

Death Life
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