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This bill allows a Class A light wine license to be issued in Howard County.
The bill takes effect June 1, 2006.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None.

Local Effect: Minimal effect on Howard County revenues. Local expenditures would
not be affected.

Small Business Effect: Overall minimal. Potentially meaningful for start-up wineries.

|
Analysis

Current Law: Light wine is defined as a fermented beverage that does not contain more
than 15.5% alcohol by volume, except in a number of counties where the limit is 22%,
and Harford County where the limit is 23%. A Class A light wine license may be issued
by the applicable county licensing authority to a Class 4 manufacturer’s license holder
and in specified counties, a Class 3 manufacturer’s license holder.

The Class A light wine license generally authorizes the license holder to keep for sale and
to sell light wines produced at the winery of the holder in any quantity, and to any
consumer, on the premises described in the license. The light wine must be packaged and



cannot be opened or consumed on the licensed premises. Unless statutorily specified, a
Class A light wine license fee is $50.

A Class 4 manufacturer’s license is a limited winery license that authorizes the license
holder to establish and operate a winery producing wine and pomace brandy generally
from Maryland agriculture products. The license holder generally may sell wine on the
winery premises to individuals who have participated in a guided tour.

Sixteen counties are currently authorized to issue Class A light wine licenses. Baltimore
City and Garrett County are authorized to issue Class A2 light wine licenses, allowing
wine to be sold from the winery either packaged or for consumption at a restaurant
owned and operated by the license holder and adjacent to the winery.

Local Fiscal Effect: The bill’s changes would have a minimal effect on Howard County
revenues. There are currently no Class 4 manufacturer’s licensees (wineries) in Howard
County (there are only 22 in the State). The county would generate fee revenue of $50
from each applicant for a Class A light wine license. Any additional monitoring and
enforcement related to licensees could be handled with existing resources.

Small Business Effect: The bill’s changes could provide incentive and make it easier to
start a winery business in Howard County. The bulk of a smaller winery’s sales often
results from onsite sales or limited distribution by the winery itself (only four wineries in
Maryland have distributors). The ability to sell wine onsite, regardless of whether
customers had taken a guided tour, likely would have a meaningful impact on the success
of a start-up winery business, and would continue to be important to the success of the
business as the winery grew.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Howard County, Comptroller’s Office, Maryland Wineries
Association, Maryland Department of Agriculture, Department of Legislative Services
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