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Economic Matters Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

Maryland Home Improvement Commission - Prosecution of Unlicensed
Contractors, Subcontractors, and Salespersons - Procedures

This departmental bill clarifies that an administrative hearing and adjudication by the
Maryland Home Improvement Commission is not a prerequisite to criminal prosecution
of a home improvement contractor, subcontractor, or salesperson for acting without an
appropriate license.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The bill codifies current practice.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: The Maryland Home Improvement Commission has determined
that this bill will have minimal or no impact on small business (attached). Legislative
Services concurs with this assessment.

Analysis

Current Law: Home improvement work includes alteration, remodeling, repair, or
replacement of a building or part of a building used as a residence. Home improvement
also includes work done on individual condominium units. Home improvement does not
include work done on apartment buildings that contain four or more single-family units
or work done on the commonly owned areas of condominiums.
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Criminal Penalties

A home improvement contractor, subcontractor, or salesperson that acts without a license
is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a fine of up to $1,000 or imprisonment for up to
30 days or both. A second or subsequent offense is punishable by a fine of up to $5,000
or imprisonment for up to two years or both.

Administrative Proceedings

The commission may deny a license to an applicant, reprimand a licensee, or revoke or
suspend a license if an applicant or licensee or the management personnel of an applicant
or licensee violates or attempts to violate State home improvement laws or regulations.
A person against whom action is contemplated has the right to a hearing prior to the
commission taking action with regard to a license. The person must be given sufficient
notice, may be represented by counsel, and has the right to appeal to a circuit court if
aggrieved by the commission’s final decision.

Background: The Maryland Home Improvement Commission advises that as a result of
a Court of Appeals case, Fosler v. Panoramic Design, Ltd., 365 Md. 472, 781 A.2d 778
(2001), a District Court judge recently ruled that the commission must first adjudicate
whether a defendant acted as an unlicensed contractor before the defendant can be
prosecuted on criminal charges. The commission has traditionally preferred pursuing
criminal charges against unlicensed contractors rather than taking administrative action
which is more time consuming and can only result in a civil penalty.

The commission currently regulates 14,320 licensed contractors, 566 licensed
subcontractors, and 1,886 licensed home improvement salespersons (numbers reflect
active licensees). The commission received 1,326 complaints of unlicensed contracting
in fiscal 2005 and initiated 196 criminal trials. The commission has received 785
complaints to date in fiscal 2006.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Office of Administrative Hearings; Department of Labor,
Licensing, and Regulation; Department of Legislative Services
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