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Insurance - Prohibited Acts - Inducements to Financing an Insurance Contract

This bill prohibits an insurance producer, an employee of an insurance producer, or any
other person from accepting, directly or indirectly, any valuable consideration as an
inducement to facilitating an agreement to finance an insurance premium under specified
conditions. The prohibition applies when such an agreement contains an assignment of
or is otherwise secured by the unearned premium or refund obtainable from an insurer on
cancellation of an insurance contract.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The bill codifies the existing enforcement practice of the Maryland
Insurance Administration.

Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund (MAIF): The bill would not directly affect the
finances or operations of MAIF.

Local Effect: None.
Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Accepting consideration as an inducement to financing an insurance
contract with a premium finance company is not specifically regulated. However, a
person may not pay any part of an initial service fee or charge to an insurance producer,



an employee of an insurance producer, or any other person as an inducement to financing
an insurance contract with a premium financing company.

In addition to any other applicable administrative or other civil penalty, a premium
finance company, insurer, or insurance producer that willfully and knowingly accepts a
fee or charge is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine of up to
$1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to one year.

In addition, to enforce the provisions of Maryland’s insurance laws, the Maryland
Insurance Commissioner may also, after a hearing, issue a cease and desist order, suspend
or revoke a license, or impose a penalty for violating these provisions. For an insurer, the
penalty ranges from $100 to $125,000. For an insurance producer, the penalty ranges
from $100 to $500.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund, Maryland Insurance
Administration, Department of Legislative Services
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