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Economic Matters

Secondhand Precious Metal Object Dealers and Pawnbrokers - Definition of Dealer

This bill expands the definition of a secondhand precious metal object dealer to include
an individual who is compensated for the sale or delivery of a secondhand precious metal
object on behalf of an unlicensed party.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential increase in general fund revenues and expenditures for licensing
new dealers. Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures due
to imposition of existing criminal and civil penalties on unlicensed dealers.

Local Effect: Potential minimal increase in revenues and expenditures due to imposition
of existing criminal penalties on unlicensed dealers.

Small Business Effect: Potential meaningful application and administrative costs for
individuals and businesses not previously required to be licensed as secondhand precious
metal object dealers.

Analysis

Current Law: The Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation (DLLR) regulates
dealers who acquire and trade secondhand precious metal objects, including gold,
iridium, palladium, platinum, silver, precious and semiprecious stones, and pearls.
Dealers of these objects, including individuals, retail jewelers, and pawnbrokers not
otherwise regulated by a county, must be licensed before doing business in the State. An
unlicensed dealer is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a maximum fine of $10,000
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and imprisonment for up to two years. The Secretary of Labor, Licensing, and
Regulation is also authorized to impose civil penalties of up to $5,000, payable to the
general fund.

Applicants for licensure must pay a nonrefundable fee of $75 and sign an application
under oath that contains specified information, including a fixed business address. The
applicant must also agree to submit to an investigation of the dealer’s inventory by law
enforcement agencies in the case of a stolen property investigation. All licensed dealers
and their employees must submit to a criminal history records check, including
fingerprinting at the individual’s expense. Licenses are issued for a period of two years.

Licensees are required to maintain records of all transactions that involve the acquisition
of secondhand precious metal objects, including identifying information and a physical
description of the person from whom the object was acquired. All records must be
submitted to law enforcement and retained by the dealer for at least three years in a
location within the State. Any secondhand precious metal object acquired by a dealer
must be held for at least 18 days after a record is submitted to law enforcement.

Background: The bill would effectively expand the definition of a secondhand precious
metal object dealer to include auctioneers of secondhand precious metal objects. This
could include those who operate at traditional auction sites and those who arrange for sale
of objects on Internet auction sites. The Maryland Association of Auctioneers counts
membership of more than 100 businesses, an unknown subset of which deals in
secondhand precious metal objects. eBay, a prominent Internet auction site, has
1.8 million registered users in Maryland; 5,300 of these traders record sales of $1,000 or
more per month. This bill could affect those Maryland businesses that arrange sales on
Internet auction sites, such as eBay, on behalf of others.

DLLR advises that it currently licenses 265 secondhand precious metal object dealers.

State Fiscal Effect: This bill could increase the number of applicants for licensure as
secondhand precious metal objects dealers. Each applicant would be required to pay the
$75 application fee, which would be deposited in the general fund.

Additional general fund revenues could result from the monetary penalty provision for
cases of unlicensed dealers heard in the District Court. Civil penalties imposed by the
Secretary of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation on unlicensed dealers would also accrue to
the general fund.

DLLR expenditures could increase for processing of additional license applications and
associated administrative expenses. The Governor included $17,000 for licensing of
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secondhand precious metal object dealers in his proposed fiscal 2008 budget. Should
licensing activity increase significantly, DLLR would need additional administrative or
clerical staff to handle the workload; however, licensing volume cannot be accurately
quantified at this time. DLLR could request additional staff through the budget process.

General fund expenditures could also increase minimally if unlicensed dealers are
committed to Division of Correction or local detention facilities. The number of people
convicted is expected to be minimal.

Local Fiscal Effect: Additional revenue could result from the monetary penalty
provision for cases of unlicensed dealers heard in the circuit courts.

Expenditures could increase minimally for incarceration of unlicensed dealers. Counties
pay the full cost of incarceration for people in their facilities for the first 90 days of the
sentence, plus part of the per diem cost after 90 days.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: SB 365 (Senator Dyson, et al.) – Education, Health, and Environmental
Affairs.

Information Source(s): Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Department
of Legislative Services
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