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Task Force to Study the Establishment of Biennial Motor Vehicle Safety
Inspections

This bill establishes the Task Force to Study the Establishment of Biennial Motor Vehicle
Safety Inspections, staffed by the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). The task force
is charged with considering the positive and negative aspects of such inspections,
programs in other states, and costs to the State and the vehicle owner. The task force
must make specific recommendations as to whether requiring biennial motor vehicle
inspections would benefit the citizens of the State and how to implement a biennial motor
vehicle safety inspections requirement. A report is due to the Governor and the General
Assembly by December 31, 2007.

The bill takes effect June 1, 2007 and terminates May 31, 2008.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Any expense reimbursements for task force members are assumed to be
minimal and absorbable within existing resources. Staffing could also be provided within
existing resources.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.
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Analysis

Current Law: Generally, if a person transfers a used motor vehicle, the person must
obtain an inspection certificate from an inspection station. The inspection certificate is to
be attached to the window of the vehicle. The inspection requirement does not apply to
transfers between spouses, parents and children, vehicle co-owners, or vehicles that are
not to be both titled and registered in Maryland. The inspection requirement also does
not apply to other specialized types of transfers, as specified in statute.

A valid inspection certificate for a used vehicle is required for titling and registration. An
inspection certificate is valid from the date of the inspection certificate for a period of
90 days. An inspection certificate issued for a used vehicle owned and held in inventory
by a licensed dealer expires at the earlier of six months or after 1,000 miles has been
added to the vehicle’s odometer since issuance of the inspection certificate.

If a person applies for titling and registration of a used vehicle, the MVA may issue a
temporary registration and withhold delivery of the certificate of title until an inspection
certificate is received. A vehicle with a temporary registration must be inspected within
60 days of the issuance of the temporary registration.

Background: According to the latest available information from the American
Automobile Association and the Automotive Service Association, 18 states and the
District of Columbia require inspections of passenger cars on a periodic basis (Delaware,
Hawaii, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New
Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, Vermont,
Virginia, and West Virginia). Inspection fees vary, as does the proportion of the fee kept
by the inspection stations for performing inspections.

All these states require annual safety inspections except New Jersey, Rhode Island, and
Utah. In the first five years of ownership, Utah requires safety inspections biennially;
thereafter, the inspections are required annually. The District of Columbia also requires
inspections on a biennial basis. Most states test for emissions and safety at the same
time. The dual testing does not occur in the District of Columbia and portions of Maine,
Texas, and Virginia and the states of Hawaii, Mississippi, Pennsylvania, Utah, and West
Virginia. In New York, dual testing is available for an additional fee.

Eighteen other states, including Maryland authorize a law enforcement officer to stop and
inspect a vehicle if there is a reasonable suspicion that the vehicle lacks required safety
equipment or otherwise appears unsafe. Usually a safety equipment repair order is issued
and the motorist is subject to suspension of the vehicle registration for noncompliance.
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In addition to Maryland, Connecticut generally requires inspections upon the transfer of a
used vehicle to another person.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: This bill is similar to HB 1257/SB 562 of 2005. HB 1257
received an unfavorable report from the House Environmental Matters Committee and
SB 562 received an unfavorable report from the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee.

Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Transportation, Automotive Service
Association, American Automobile Association, Department of Legislative Services
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