HOUSE BILL 1138

C2 8lr1902

By: Delegates Braveboy, Cane, Feldman, Griffith, Hecht, Holmes, Manno, Miller, and Pena-Melnyk

Introduced and read first time: February 7, 2008

Assigned to: Economic Matters

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments House action: Adopted with floor amendments

Read second time: March 14, 2008

CHAPTER	
---------	--

1 AN ACT concerning

2

3

4

5 6

7 8

9

10

11

15

Task Force to Study Gasoline Zone-Pricing in Maryland

- FOR the purpose of establishing a Task Force to Study Gasoline Zone–Pricing in Maryland; specifying the membership and duties of the Task Force; providing for the appointment of a Senate co–chair and House co–chair of the Task Force; providing for the staffing of the Task Force; prohibiting a member of the Task Force from receiving compensation for serving on the Task Force; authorizing a member of the Task Force to receive reimbursement for certain expenses; requiring a certain report on or before a certain date; providing for the termination of the Task Force; and generally relating to the Task Force to Study Gasoline Zone–Pricing in Maryland.
- 12 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 13 MARYLAND, That:
- 14 (a) There is a Task Force to Study Gasoline Zone–Pricing in Maryland.
 - (b) The Task Force consists of the following members:
- 16 (1) three members one member of the Senate of Maryland, appointed by the President of the Senate;
- 18 (2) three members one member of the House of Delegates, appointed by the Speaker of the House;

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.

29

(1)

study:

(3)	the Attorney General, or the Attorney General's designee;
(4)	the Comptroller, or the Comptroller's designee; and
(5)	the following members, appointed by the Governor:
	(i) one representative of service station dealers or operators provided by the Washington Maryland Delaware Service Station epair Association;
operators;	(ii) one representative of independent service station dealers or
	(iii) two representatives of gasoline suppliers;
	(iv) one consumer advocate group representative;
petroleum in the S	(v) one economist familiar with the sale and distribution of tate; and
representing:	(vi) three members of the public, with one member each
	1. an urban area of the State;
	2. a suburban area of the State; and
	3. a rural area of the State.
(c) (1) the member appoint	The President of the Senate shall designate one of the members nted from the Senate of Maryland as co–chair of the Task Force.
(2) member appointed	The Speaker of the House shall designate one of the members the from the House of Delegates as co–chair of the Task Force.
	Office of the Comptroller Department of Legislative Services shall be Task Force.
(e) A me	mber of the Task Force:
(1)	may not receive compensation as a member of the Task Force; but
(2) State Travel Regu	is entitled to reimbursement for expenses under the Standard lations, as provided in the State budget.
(f) The T	Cask Force shall:
	(a) (b) (c) (c) (d) (d) (d) (d) (e) (e) (e) (e) (f) (e) (f) (f) (f) (f) (f) (f) (f) (f) (f) (f

1	(i) the effect of gasoline zone-pricing on communities;
2	(ii) the effect of gasoline zone–pricing on consumers; and
3 4	(iii) the effect of existing gasoline pricing laws and regulation and the need for regulation in the area of gasoline pricing; and
5 6	(2) make recommendations regarding the regulation of gasoline pricing, including statutory changes.
7 8 9 10 11	(g) The Task Force shall submit an interim report of its findings and recommendations to the Governor and, subject to § 2–1246 of the State Government Article, to the General Assembly on or before December 1, 2008, and submit a final report to the Governor and, subject to § 2–1246 of the State Government Article, to the General Assembly on or before December 1, 2009.
12 13 14 15	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect July 1, 2008. It shall remain effective for a period of 2 years and, at the end of June 30 2010, with no further action required by the General Assembly, this Act shall be abrogated and of no further force and effect.
	Approved:
	Governor.
	Speaker of the House of Delegates.

President of the Senate.