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Health and Government Operations

State Board of Acupuncture - Practice and Licensure

This departmental bill expands the practice of acupuncture to include other oriental
medical therapies. In addition, the bill repeals the specified number of acupuncture and
clinical practice hours as a condition of licensure. Finally, the bill removes the
continuing education requirement for a practitioner who has maintained an active practice
out of state and wishes to reinstate a Maryland license.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The bill would not directly affect governmental operations or finances.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: The Department of Health and Mental Hygiene has determined
that this bill has minimal or no impact on small business (attached). Legislative Services
concurs with this assessment.

Analysis

Current Law: The practice of acupuncture includes • stimulation of points of the body
by the insertion of acupuncture needles; • application of moxibustion; and • manual,
mechanical, thermal, or electrical therapies only when performed in accordance with the
principles of oriental acupuncture medical theories.
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To qualify for an acupuncture license from the State Acupuncture Board, an applicant
must be at least 18 years old, of good moral character, and able to communicate in the
English language. In addition, the applicant has to demonstrate competence in
performing acupuncture by meeting one of two standards for education or training:

• graduation from a course of training of at least 1,800 hours in acupuncture,
including 300 clinical hours, that is • approved by the Maryland Higher Education
Commission; • accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and
Oriental Medicine (ACAOM); or • found by the board to be equivalent to a course
approved by ACAOM; or

• achievement of a • diplomat in acupuncture from the National Certification
Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine; or • passing score on an
examination that is determined by the board to be equivalent to the examination
given by the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental
Medicine.

The board may reinstate the license of a former licensee who has failed to renew the
license for any reason if the former licensee • meets certain continuing education
requirements; • applies for reinstatement more than 30 days after the license renewal
deadline; • submits a reinstatement application to the board; and • pays a reinstatement
and renewal fee.

The board may not assess a reinstatement fee on an individual who has been on inactive
status for more than six years if the individual can provide documentation of maintaining
an active license in another state.

Background: According to the board, the education hour requirement should be
removed because the national accrediting body, ACAOM, frequently changes the
national standards for education requirements. Thus, statute must be amended each time
this happens.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of
Legislative Services
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