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Environmental Matters

Vehicle Laws - Prohibition Against Minors With Provisional License
Transporting Minors - Enforcement

This bill repeals the limitation that a police officer enforce, only as a secondary action
when the police officer detains a driver for another suspected violation, the prohibition
against a minor holding a provisional license or learner’s permit from transporting other
minors as passengers, unless the passenger is related to the minor as specified in the law.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues from additional
citations. Potential minimal increase in Transportation Trust Fund revenues to the extent
that suspended drivers purchase restricted licenses. Potential minimal increase in TTF
expenditures due to additional notification of suspensions and hearings, to the extent
requested. Any such increases cannot be reliably estimated at this time. Enforcement
could be handled with existing resources.

Local Effect: Enforcement could be handled with existing resources.
Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Except under specified conditions, a provisional license holder younger
than age 18 is prohibited from driving a motor vehicle with a passenger younger than age
18 until the one hundred fifty-first day (five months) after the provisional driver’s license
was issued. The prohibition does not apply to a passenger who is legally related to the
licensee (spouse, child, stepchild, sibling, or stepsibling) or a relative residing at the same



address. The prohibition also does not apply if the provisional license holder is
accompanied by and under the supervision of a driver who:

° 1s at least age 21;
° has possessed a driver’s license for at least three years; and
° is sitting in the front passenger’s seat.

A police officer may only enforce this provision as a secondary violation (i.e., it cannot
be the primary cause for stopping a motorist). A violation of the restriction is a moving
violation for which an individual may be fined up to $500 and assessed one point upon
conviction.

If MVA receives satisfactory evidence that an individual has violated this prohibition,
MVA may suspend or revoke the individual’s driver’s license. An individual may
request a hearing for a suspension or revocation.

Under the Graduated Licensing System, a provisional licensee may not drive between
12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless accompanied and supervised by a licensed driver
who is at least age 21 or the licensee is driving to or from: e employment; e a school
class or official school activity; e an organized volunteer activity; or e an athletic event or
related training session.

MVA currently requires a holder of a provisional license, upon conviction of a moving
violation, to attend a driver improvement program. If a holder of a provisional license is
convicted of a second offense, MVA may suspend the license for 30 days; for a third
offense, MVA may suspend or revoke the offender’s provisional license for up to
180 days. The offender has the right to an administrative hearing.

Background: According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, the District of
Columbia and 39 states, including Delaware, New Jersey, South Carolina, and Virginia,
impose passenger restrictions on novice drivers. In addition to Maryland, 12 other states
(Arizona, California, Colorado, Georgia, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Nebraska, Nevada,
Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington) allow enforcement of young driver passenger
restrictions only as a secondary action.

Restrictions vary from allowing no passengers without the supervision of a driver age 21
or older for the first 90 days that the license is issued (Indiana) to allowing no more than
three passengers under age 19 (West Virginia). In California, drivers are prohibited from
transporting passengers under age 20 unless accompanied by a parent or an adult over
age 25 for the first 6 months of their provisional license. A family exemption allows
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teens unaccompanied by an adult to drive immediate family members under age 20
during the first 6 months with parental authorization.

Chapter 483 of 1998 established the provisional driver’s licensing system, which became
effective on July 1, 1999. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety rates the Maryland
program as good. Forty-six states and the District of Columbia have a three-stage
licensing system: a learner’s permit, an intermediate or provisionary license, and a
permanent license. The restrictions placed on the intermediate license and learner’s
permit differ from state to state.

State Fiscal Effect: General fund revenues could increase to the extent that additional
drivers are cited for violating the prohibition in the bill. Any such increase is expected to
be minimal. TTF revenues could increase to the extent that suspended drivers purchase a
corrected license with the driving restriction required by the bill. MVA charges $20 for
each corrected license issued. TTF expenditures could potentially increase due to
notifications for suspensions and hearings. Any such increase is expected to be minimal.
The prepayment penalty assessed by the District Court is $70 and one point assessed
against the license. If the violation contributes to an accident, the prepayment penalty is
$110 and three points must be assessed against the license.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: SB 661 (Senators Middleton and Dyson) — Judicial Proceedings.
Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Maryland
Department of Transportation, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Department of

Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 17, 2008
ncs/ljm

Analysis by: Karen D. Morgan Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510

HB 874 / Page 3





