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Economic Matters

State Procurement Contracts - Living Wage

This bill eliminates the State’s two-tiered living wage based on geographic boundaries
and establishes a statewide living wage of $11.30 per hour, subject to annual increases for
inflation.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential moderate to minimal increase in expenditures, all funds, in the
short-term from contract costs passed on to the State; long-term costs are less certain but
could be significant.

Local Effect: None.
Small Business Effect: Potential meaningful.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Analysis

Current Law: Chapter 284 of 2007 made Maryland the first state to require State
contractors to pay their employees a “living wage.” For fiscal 2008, the living wage is
set at $11.30 in Montgomery, Prince George’s, Howard, Anne Arundel, and Baltimore
counties and Baltimore City. It is set at $8.50 for all other areas of the State. The living
wage rates are adjusted annually for inflation by the Commissioner of Labor and
Industry.

The higher living wage rate ($11.30) applies to contracts in which at least 50% of the
contract services will be performed in locations subject to the higher rate, as determined



by the State agency responsible for the contract. The lower living wage rate ($8.50)
applies to all other contracts. State contractors or subcontractors with a State contract for
services valued at greater than $100,000 must pay the living wage to employees who
spend at least half their time during any work week working on the State contract.
However, the living wage requirement does not apply to employees who are under the
age of 18 or who work full-time for less than 13 consecutive weeks for the duration of the
contract. Employers who provide health insurance to workers may reduce wages by all
or part of the hourly cost of the employer’s share of the premium for each employee. The
Commissioner of Labor and Industry may allow an employer who contributes to its
employees’ tax-deferred retirement savings accounts to reduce the living wage rate by the
hourly cost of the employer’s contribution, up to 50 cents per hour.

State contractors are not required to pay a living wage if doing so would conflict with a
federal requirement or if they are:

° providing emergency services to prevent or respond to an imminent threat to
public health or safety;

a public service company;

a nonprofit organization;

another State agency;

a county government (including Baltimore City); or

a firm with 10 or fewer employees that has a State contract valued at less than
$500,000.

The commissioner may adopt regulations, investigate wage complaints, issue orders for
hearings, issue determinations, serve each interested party, and determine the amount of
restitution for violations. Every three years, the commissioner must assess the
appropriateness of the inflation measure used to recalculate the living wage rate on an
annual basis (the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers in the
Washington-Baltimore metropolitan area). The commissioner must also assess whether
Maryland counties are subject to the appropriate living wage rates, given labor costs in
their jurisdictions. An employee may sue for damages when an employer fails to pay the
living wage, regardless of whether the State has required the employer to pay restitution.

Employers who violate the living wage requirements must pay the affected employees the
amount determined by the commissioner and pay the State $20 per day per employee in
liquidated damages. Employers must post a notice of the living wage rate, the
employees’ rights under the bill, and contact information for the commissioner in
English, Spanish, and any other language commonly used at the work site; the
commissioner is responsible for providing these notices to employers.
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The University System of Maryland, Morgan State University, and St. Mary’s College of
Maryland are exempt from most provisions of State procurement law. Also, the
following State agencies are exempted in whole or in part from most State procurement
law, including:

Blind Industries and Services of Maryland;

Maryland State Arts Council;

Maryland Health and Higher Educational Facilities Authority;
Department of Business and Economic Development;
Maryland Food Center Authority;

Maryland Public Broadcasting Commission;

Maryland State Planning Council on Developmental Disabilities;
Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund;

Maryland Historical Trust;

Rural Maryland Council;

Maryland State Lottery Agency;

Maryland Health Insurance Plan;

Maryland Energy Administration;

Maryland Developmental Disabilities Administration;

Maryland Stadium Authority; and

State Retirement and Pension System.

Background: In 1994, Baltimore City became the first locality in the country to enact a
living wage requirement for city contractors. Since then, living wage laws have been
adopted in at least 120 localities in the U.S, including other large cities such as Detroit,
Boston, and Los Angeles. In 2005, Montgomery County and Prince George’s County
joined Baltimore City as the only jurisdictions in the State to enact a living wage.
Washington, DC enacted a living wage bill in 2006, which set the initial living wage at
$11.75, subject to annual increases. The current living wage rate is $9.62 in Baltimore
City, $11.60 in Montgomery County, and $11.25 in Prince George’s County.

Maryland’s minimum wage is currently $6.15. The current federal minimum wage is
$5.85, increasing to $6.55 in July 2008.

HB 106 / Page 3



The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis projects that per capita income in 2010 will range
from a high of $57,375 in Montgomery County to a low of $22,368 in Somerset County,
with a statewide average of $40,696.

State Fiscal Effect: Based on the experience of local jurisdictions that have had
long-standing living wage ordinances, service contracts for maintenance and janitorial
services are among the types of contracts most likely to be subject to living wage
provisions. The Department of General Services, which serves as the procurement
control agency for State maintenance contracts, has identified 21 contracts that currently
are subject to the lower living wage. However, DGS is unable to quantify the value of
these contracts and no data is yet available on the impact of Chapter 284 on procurement
costs in fiscal 2008.

Research on the fiscal effects of living wage laws have found that contract costs may
increase 0% to 2% in the short-term. Legislative Services estimated an increase of 1% on
maintenance and food services costs, or $430,000, in fiscal 2008 and 2009 due to
enactment of Chapter 284. This is less than the annual inflation rate and so may be
absorbed within automatic contract increases. The impact of eliminating the Tier 2
counties would be no greater than that, and would likely be less as most State facilities
are located in central Maryland counties already subject to the higher living wage. In the
long-term, wage spillover effects could increase costs but the fiscal impact cannot be
reliably estimated and could be less than inflation.

Small Business Effect: Any increase in wage rates that small businesses in suburban
and rural areas must pay their employees will be passed on to the State in the form of
higher contract costs.

Small firms are less able than large firms to absorb the cost of increased wages without
passing on the full cost to the State because small businesses are less able to take
advantage of economies of scale to reduce costs. Often, small firms do not have a large
enough client base over which to spread the increased costs. Therefore, imposing a
higher living wage rate on small businesses in rural areas could put them at a competitive
disadvantage in bidding for State contracts.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: None.
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Information Source(s): Montgomery County; Prince George’s County; Harford
County; Department of General Services; Board of Public Works; Comptroller’s Office;
University System of Maryland; Maryland Department of Transportation; Department of
Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Carroll County; Department of Public Safety and
Correctional Services; U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis; Department of Legislative
Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 13, 2008
ncs/rhh

Analysis by: Michael C. Rubenstein Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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