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Environmental Matters Judicial Proceedings

Vehicle Laws - Learner's Instructional Permits

This departmental bill extends the validity period of a learner’s permit and repeals the
exception allowing a 15-year-old to drive under supervision without a learner’s permit.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Transportation Trust Fund revenues could decrease by a slight but
indeterminate amount due to a small anticipated decrease in the number of learner permit
renewals.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: The Maryland Department of Transportation has determined that
this bill has minimal or no impact on small business (attached). Legislative Services
concurs with this assessment. (The attached assessment does not reflect amendments to
the bill.)

|
Analysis

Current Law: Prior to issuing a driver’s license, the Motor Vehicle Administration is
required to issue to an applicant a learner’s instructional permit unless otherwise
permitted by MV A by virtue of being already licensed in another state or country, or by
the armed forces. A learner’s permit may only be issued to an individual who is at least
15 years and 9 months old. Upon issuance of the learner’s permit, the holder may drive
under the immediate supervision of an adult age 21 or older who has held a driver’s



license for at least three years. The holder of a learner’s permit is then required to wait
six months from the date of issuance of the permit or from the date of the last moving
violation to take a driver examination. A learner’s permit expires one year after the date
of issuance.

Upon successful completion of a driver’s examination, an applicant who held a learner’s
permit or who held another state’s or country’s driver’s license for less than 18 months is
entitled to receive a provisional driver’s license, as long as the applicant is at least
16 years and 3 months old.

However, an individual who is at least age 15 may drive without first obtaining a
learner’s permit if under the supervision of a qualified driver’s education instructor.

State Fiscal Effect: TTF revenues could decrease minimally due to fewer renewals of
learner’s permits beginning in fiscal 2009.

MVA advises that computer reprogramming would be necessary to implement the
requirements of this bill. Legislative Service advises that if MVA is unable to
accomplish this with existing staff and resources, it may need to contract with an outside
computer services vendor.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.
Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Maryland
Department of Transportation, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Department of

Legislative Services
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