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Environmental Matters

Task Force to Study the Establishment of Periodic Motor Vehicle Safety
Inspections

This bill establishes the Task Force to Study the Establishment of Periodic Motor Vehicle
Safety Inspections, staffed by the Motor Vehicle Administration. The task force is
charged with considering the positive and negative aspects of such inspections, programs
in other states, and costs to the State and the vehicle owner. The task force must make
findings and recommendations as to whether requiring periodic motor vehicle inspections
would benefit citizens of Maryland and how to implement a periodic motor vehicle safety
inspections requirement. A report is due to the Governor and the General Assembly by
December 31, 2008.

The bill takes effect June 1, 2008 and terminates December 31, 2008.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Any expense reimbursements for task force members are assumed to be
minimal and absorbable within existing resources. Staffing could also be provided within
existing resources.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.



Analysis

Current Law: Generally, if a person transfers a used motor vehicle, the person has to
obtain an inspection certificate from an inspection station. The inspection certificate is to
be attached to the window of the vehicle. The inspection requirement does not apply to
transfers between spouses, parents and children, vehicle co-owners, or vehicles that are
not to be both titled and registered in Maryland. The inspection requirement also does
not apply to other specialized types of transfers, as specified in statute.

A valid inspection certificate for a used vehicle is required for titling and registration. An
inspection certificate is valid from the date of the inspection certificate for a period of
90 days. An inspection certificate issued for a used vehicle owned and held in inventory
by a licensed dealer expires at the earlier of six months or after 1,000 miles has been
added to the vehicle’s odometer since issuance of the inspection certificate.

If a person applies for titling and registration of a used vehicle, MVA may issue a
temporary registration and withhold delivery of the certificate of title until an inspection
certificate is received. A vehicle with a temporary registration must be inspected within
60 days of the issuance of the temporary registration.

Background: Nineteen states and the District of Columbia require inspections of
passenger cars on a periodic basis (Delaware, Hawaii, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts,
Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North
Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and West
Virginia). Inspection fees vary, as does the proportion of the fee kept by the inspection
stations for performing inspections.

All these states require annual safety inspections except New Jersey. In the first eight
years of ownership, Utah requires safety inspections biennially; thereafter, the inspections
are required annually. The District of Columbia also requires inspections on a biennial
basis.

Maryland authorizes a law enforcement officer to stop and inspect a vehicle if there is a
reasonable suspicion that the vehicle lacks required safety equipment or otherwise
appears unsafe. Usually a safety equipment repair order is issued and the motorist is
subject to suspension of the vehicle registration for noncompliance.
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Additional Information

Prior Introductions: A substantially similar bill, HB 1276 of 2007, passed the House

but failed on third reading in the Senate. Similar bills, HB 1257 and SB 562 of 2005,
were reported unfavorably.

Cross File: SB 491 (Senator Gladden) — Judicial Proceedings.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of
Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 21, 2008
mll/ljm

Analysis by: Evan M. Isaacson Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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