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Health Insurance - Prompt Pay - Clarifications

This bill clarifies that if an insurer, nonprofit health servicanplor health maintenance
organization (carrier) fails to pay a clean claim for reirsborent or otherwise violates
clean claims requirements, the carrier must pay interedteoarhount of the claim that
remains unpaid 30 days after the receipt of the initial clean claimifobuesement.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: None. The bill clarifies current law.
Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: A carrier must permit a provider a minimum of 180 days froendate a
covered service is rendered to submit a claim. Within 30 dayescefpt, a carrier must
pay the claim or send a notice of receipt with the status aflém. If a carrier denies a
claim, it must permit a provider at least 90 working days to appéfla carrier
erroneously denies a claim and the provider notifies the cawmitein one year, the
carrier must reprocess the claim. If a carrier dispufst@on of a claim, it must provide
payment for any undisputed portion within 30 days of receipt of th@.clA carrier that
does not pay clean claims must pay interest on the amount ofaihe that remains
unpaid 30 days after the claim is received. Interest must be pandattaly rate of:



° 1.5% from the thirty-first through sixtieth day;
o 2.0% from the sixty-first through one hundred-tvietht day; and
o 2.5% after the one hundred-twentieth day.

A carrier in violation of these regulations is ®dtjto a fine of up to $500 per violation and
additional penalties for frequent violations thadicate a general business practice. Interest
must be included in any late reimbursement to theigeo

A carrier may retroactively deny reimbursement fbimation submitted was fraudulent or
improperly coded or if the claim was duplicativé. claim may be considered improperly

coded if it uses codes that do not conform to teeng guidelines used by the carrier or if it
does not conform to the contractual obligationghef provider. If a carrier retroactively

denies reimbursement, the carrier must specifyriting the basis for the denial. A carrier

may only retroactively deny reimbursement for s@wiwithin six months after the date that
the carrier paid the provider, with the exceptidnservices subject to coordination of

benefits with another carrier, Medicaid, or Med&an which case a claim may be denied
for up to 18 months. If a carrier retroactivelyn@s reimbursement as a result of
coordination of benefits, the provider has at lesstmonths from the date of denial to
submit a claim to the carrier, Medicaid, or Medgar

Background: Errors may occur during the electronic processinglaims {.e., failure to
reconcile the claim with a prior authorization nwerbthat result in the initial denial of a
clean claim. The claim must then be resubmittedhleyprovider. This bill clarifies that
clean claims requirements continue to apply whamd are resubmitted. This reflects the
Maryland Insurance Administration’s interpretatmfrcurrent law.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.

CrossFile: SB 439 (Senator Middleton) - Finance.

Infor mation Source(s): Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Maryland Insurance
Administration, Department of Legislative Services
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