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Hate Crimes - Prohibitions and Protected Classes - Disability

This bill adds disability to the protected classes under Stdtecrime statutes. The bill
also adds the attempt to commit a crime motivated by biaspashibited offense under
the statute.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues and expesdifur
additional prosecutions and convictions occur. Any increase inridDis€ourt
proceedings as a result of this bill can be handled with existing resources.

Local Effect: Potential minimal increase in revenues and expenditures ificaddit
prosecutions and convictions occur. Any increase in circuit coocepdings as a result
of this bill can be handled with existing resources.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: A person may not deface, damage, destroy, or attempt to defaggejam
or destroy real or personal property that is owned, leasededriysa religious entity or
for any religious purpose. A person may not, by force or the tbfdatce, obstruct or
attempt to obstruct the free exercise of religious beliefs.

A person may not deface, damage, or destroy, attempt to deface, damage, arldastroy
or attempt to burn an object on, or damage the real or personattpropenected to a
public or private building because a person of a particular raaa, celigious belief,



sexual orientation, or national origin is associated with the buildimftlogre is evidence
that exhibits animosity against a person or group due to the race,retitpous beliefs,
sexual orientation, or national origin of that person or group.

Because of another’s race, color, religious beliefs, sexual or@ntat national origin, a
person may not:

commit a crime against another person;
damage the real or personal property of another person;

deface, damage, or destroy, or attempt to deface, damage, or dbstregal or
personal property of another person;

burn or attempt to burn an object on the real or personal property of @mnothe
person; or

commit a hate crime that involves a separate crime that is a felohgtaesults in
the death of the victim.

If a violation of these provisions involves a separate felony, thateils guilty of a
felony and is subject to maximum penalties of 10 years impnisah and/or a fine of
$10,000. If a violation results in the death of a victim, the violator is subjetaxonum

penalties of 20 years imprisonment and/or a fine of $20,000. Fotierdaot involving

a separate felony, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor amthjecsto a maximum
penalty of three years imprisonment and/or a fine of $5,000.

Background: According to the Anti-Defamation League, as of August 2008, 30 states
and the District of Columbia had hate crime statutes protedhdgiduals with
disabilities. The states with the relevant legislation are listed below

According to the Federal Bureau of Investigatiodidform Crime Reports for calendar
2007 (the latest year for which statistics are available), 158 d#sed incidents were
reported in Maryland. None of the reported incidents were motivated Individual’s
disability.

Stateswith Hate Crimes Provisions Pertaining to | ndividual with Disabilities

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delawistrict of
Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, lllinois, lowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mainesddahusetts,
Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New JerseyMdgico,

New York, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Washington,
Wisconsin

Source: Anti-Defamation League, August 2008
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Additional Information
Prior Introductions. None.
CrossFile: None.
Information Source(s): Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy, Judiciary
(Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of Statdide, Office of the Public
Defender, Department of Public Safety and Correctional ServiState's Attorneys'

Association, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 24, 2009
mim/kdm Revised - Enrolled Bill - May 18, 2009

Analysis by: Amy A. Devadas Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510

HB 560 / Page 3





