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FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE
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Environmental Matters

Texting While Driving Ban of 2009

This bill prohibits a driver from using a text messaging dewcerite, send, or read a
text message while operating a motor vehicle. A violator isygoile misdemeanor and
subject to a maximum fine of $500. Using a wireless device te plgthone call does
not constitute text messaging. The bill's provisions do not apply toopeeator of
(1) a moving emergency vehicle while acting in an official capa2) a moving motor
vehicle while reporting unlawful activity, summoning emergencysgamste, preventing
injury, or relaying information between a transit or for-hire ofgrand a dispatcher, as
specified; or (3) while using a global positioning system.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: Minimal general fund revenue increase from the penalty provision
applicable to this offense. The increase in the District Czageload is expected to be
minimal and can be handled with existing resources.

Local Effect: Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: A wireless communication device means a hand-held or hagels-fr
device used to access a wireless telephone service or a &sdgimg device. A “text
messaging device” is not specifically defined in the Maryland Vehicle Law.



There are no restrictions applicable to adults in the Marylarmic\éelLaw governing the
use of hand-held telephones or electronic devices while driving. \owexcept to
contact a 9-1-1 system in an emergency, a minor holding a leapeenst or provisional
license is prohibited from using a wireless communication devicide voperating a
motor vehicle. This prohibition on novice drivers is only enforceabla ascondary
action. A violator is subject to a maximum fine of $500 and asss#sof one point
against the driving record. The prepayment penalty assessed Digtitiet Court is $70,
or $110 and three points if the violation contributes to an accident.oltoi is also
subject to license suspension for up to 90 days by the Motor [¢ehdministration.
(See Transportation Article § 21-1124.)

A person is guilty of negligent driving if the person drives in a easebr imprudent
manner that endangers property or human life. A negligent drivingivioleequires the
assessment of one point against the driving record and is a mauansibject to a
maximum fine of $500. The prepayment penalty assessed by thetDTourt for this

offense is $140. If the offense contributes to an accident, the péamakases to $280
and three points are assessed against the driver’s liceBse.Transportation Article
§21-901.1.)

Background: According to the Governors Highway Safety Association, seven siades
the District of Columbia specifically prohibit driving while texgi. Washington was the
first state to enact such a law in May 2007, and New Jersasted a similar provision in
November 2007. Alaska’s statewide ban on driving while texting becHewtiwe on
September 1, 2008. Other statewide bans have been implemented forniaali
Connecticut, Louisiana, and Minnesota. At least one major cityeri?h Arizona — has
this prohibition within its city limits. In addition to Marylandi least four other states
have considered a statewide ban on texting while driving.

General statewide restrictions on cell phone use while in arraehicle may effectively
make driving while texting illegal. California, Connecticut, Newsdgr New York,

Washington, and the District of Columbia prohibit all drivers fronmgishand-held

phones while operating motor vehicles. Since texting requires phogle to be held in
the hand, these laws appear to prohibit that activity. Seventees atat the District of
Columbia prohibit wireless communication device use by youngeerdti Among those
states, California and Maine prohibit all drivers younger than 8geoin using any type
of wireless communication device while driving. The other jurisois including

Maryland, prohibit drivers with instructional permits or provisioi@@nses younger than
age 18 from using a wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle.

Experts estimate that the nearly 250 million wireless phone users in tieel States sent
about 158 billion text messages in 2006. It is unknown how many of thesageess
were sent while people were operating motor vehicles, but drivinig wexting appears
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to be a growing trend. A study by Nationwide Insurance estdntiat 20% of all
drivers send or receive text messages. A Zogby poll of drivevgebrtthe ages of
18 and 24 revealed that 66% confessed to texting while driving.

While few studies have quantified the distraction caused by tewtiilg driving, and no

state has published data showing a link between texting and vebotlersts, experts
have estimated that driver inattention is a factor in 80% of motoicleecrashes and
65% of near crashes. As a result, driver distraction appedre ® factor in about
4.9 million accidents, causing 34,000 fatalities and 2.1 million inju@kile a number

of states require law enforcement officers to document the usereliess devices,
especially cell phones, at the scene of an accident, the ligliambidata gathered at the
accident scene has been subject to challenge.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: This bill is identical to HB 1110 of 2008 received an unfavorable
report from the House Environmental Matters Committee.

CrossFile: None.
Information Sources. Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of
State Police, Maryland Department of Transportation, Governoghwdy Safety

Association, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 5, 2009
ncs/ljim

Analysis by: Karen D. Morgan Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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