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Criminal Procedure- Warrantless Arrest - Second Degr ee Assault

This bill adds second degree assault to the list of offenseshich a police officer is
authorized to make a warrantless arrest. A police offiger make a warrantless arrest
for this offense if there is evidence of physical injury amdport was made to the police
within 48 hours of the incident.

If a police officer making a warrantless arrest for second degssault has probable
cause to believe that mutual battery occurred and that an immeadiast is necessary to
apprehend the person, prevent future physical injury or property damagethera or
prevent evidence tampering or destruction, the police officer musideonghether one
of the persons acted in self-defense when determining whetheretst #ie person
believed by the police officer to be the primary aggressor.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The bill is procedural in nature and does not directlyciaff
governmental finances.

Local Effect: None. The bill is procedural in nature and does not directiciaff
governmental finances.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: A police officermay arrest a person without a warrant if the officer has
probable cause to believe that the person has committed 1 of 1€scspecified in
statute and that unless the person is arrested immediately, ithen pmay not be



apprehended; may cause physical harm or property damage; cammagr twith, dispose
of, or destroy evidence. The crimes specified in statute indekieular manslaughter,
malicious burning and mischief, certain theft offenses, carrgmgearing a concealed
weapon, and certain controlled dangerous substance offenses.

A police officer may also arrest a person without a warransitimations involving
domestic abuse and stalking. An officer is required to arrebtaviwithout a warrant
and take into custody any person the officer has probable caudeet® e in violation
of an interim, temporary, or final protective order in effect at the time ofithation.

A person may not commit an assault. A violator is guiltyhef misdemeanor of second
degree assault and subject to maximum penalties of imprisonorebd fyears and/or a
fine of $2,500. Assault means the crimes of assault, battery, and assault and battery.

The felony of second degree assault occurs when a person intentmmabs physical
injury to another knowing or having reason to know that the other persorilasva
enforcement officer” engaged in the performance of the officerfeciaf duties.

A violator is subject to maximum penalties of 10 years imprigrinand/or a fine of
$5,000. Physical injury means any impairment of physical conditiariuding minor

injuries. The term “law enforcement officer” includes a cdriopal officer at a
correctional facility.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions. None.
CrossFile: None.
Information Source(s): Kent County, Montgomery County, Washington County,
Worcester County, Department of Natural Resources, Departmdberdral Services,
Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), DepartmentStéte Police, Maryland

Department of Transportation, Department of Legislative Services
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