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This emergency bill changes the amount of the surety bond or other security that 
applicants for a wholesale pharmaceutical distribution permit must submit with their 
application.  The amount changes from $100,000 in all cases to $100,000 only if the 
applicant’s annual gross receipts from the sale of prescription drugs or devices in the 
State for the previous tax year are $10,000,000 or more.  It drops to $50,000 if the 
applicant’s annual gross receipts for the previous tax year are less than $10,000,000.  The 
bill authorizes the Board of Pharmacy to allow a wholesaler that submitted a $100,000 
bond or other security prior to the bill’s enactment to reduce the amount if the wholesaler 
qualifies for the $50,000 surety bond or other security.  In addition, the bill requires a 
wholesale distributor permit applicant to submit a surety bond or other security payable 
to the board, rather than to an account established by the State.   
 
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  The bill does not affect State finances since surety bonds or other security 
are designed only to cover fines, penalties, fees, or costs that are not paid by a permit 
holder in the event that the State makes a claim against a surety bond or other security.    
  
Local Effect:  None.   
  
Small Business Effect:  Minimal.   
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Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Chapters 352 and 353 of 2007 require a wholesale distributor permit 
applicant to submit a surety bond of at least $100,000 or other equivalent means of 
security acceptable to the State, such as an irrevocable letter of credit or a deposit in a 
trust account or financial institution, payable to an account established by the State.  The 
board must establish the account, separate from its other accounts.  The surety bond is 
used to secure payment of any fines or penalties imposed by the board and any fees and 
costs incurred by the State related to the permit that are authorized under State law and 
are not paid by the permit holder within 30 days after the fines, penalties, fees, or costs 
become final. 
 
The State may make a claim against a surety bond or other security until two years after 
the permit holder’s permit ceases to be valid.  A single surety bond covers all facilities 
operated by the applicant in the State.   
 
Background:  The board advises that it regulated over 900 wholesale distributors in 
2008 and that 700 of those distributors submitted renewal applications.  The board further 
advises that it does not know how many distributors will meet the new lower surety bond 
eligibility standard that will qualify them to submit the $50,000 surety bond.  The Board 
of Pharmacy advises that, to date, no claims have been made against a surety bond. 
 
At least three states, California, New Jersey, and Nevada, allow wholesalers that do not 
meet a specified threshold of gross receipts to have a lower bond. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.   
 
Cross File:  None.   
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of 
Legislative Services         
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