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  Violent Crimes - Conditional Release Under Mandatory Supervision - Limitation  
 

 
This bill specifies that an inmate convicted of a violent crime committed on or after 
October 1, 2009 is not eligible for a mandatory supervision release resulting from earned 
diminution credits until after the inmate becomes eligible for parole. 
 
The bill also requires circuit court judges to state in open court, at the time of imposition 
of sentence for a violent crime (including burglary), the minimum time that must be 
served for mandatory release eligibility, as well as that for minimum parole eligibility. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Because the bill’s provisions would delay a mandatory supervision release 
for a small number of inmates annually, it is not expected to have a measurable impact on 
State correctional operations or costs. 
  
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  For Division of Correction (DOC) inmates whose terms of confinement 
include consecutive or concurrent sentences for a crime of violence or a crime involving 
a controlled dangerous substance, the deduction in the sentence for good conduct is 
calculated at 5 days per calendar month.  For all other inmates the deduction is calculated 
at 10 days per calendar month.  An inmate may also receive deductions calculated at 5 
days per calendar month for work tasks and education and 10 days per calendar month 
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for special projects.  However, the total deduction may not exceed 20 days per calendar 
month. 
 
These credits are awarded as they are earned.  When an inmate’s total number of 
diminution credits is equal to the remainder of sentence, including consideration for any 
losses of credits, the inmate is eligible for mandatory supervision release. 
 
A deduction may not be allowed for a period during which an inmate does not receive 
credit for service of the inmate’s term of confinement, including a period:  (1) during 
which the inmate’s sentence is stayed; (2) during which the inmate is not in DOC custody 
because of escape; or (3) for which the Maryland Parole Commission has declined to 
grant credit after revocation of parole or mandatory supervision. 
 
An inmate in a local correctional facility may receive deductions of five days per 
calendar month for:  good conduct; industrial, agricultural, or administrative tasks; 
educational and training courses; work projects; and special programs.  The use of 
diminution credits to reduce an inmate’s term of incarceration is a means of recognizing 
an inmate’s good behavior.  Inmates are allowed a deduction in advance from the term of 
confinement.  If an inmate violates a rule of discipline, however, diminution credits may 
be revoked. 
 
Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than Baltimore City 
are sentenced to local detention facilities.  For persons sentenced to a term of between 12 
and 18 months, the sentencing judge has the discretion to order that the sentence be 
served at a local facility or DOC.   
 
The Maryland Parole Commission has the exclusive power to authorize the parole of an 
inmate in DOC.  The Board of Review of the Patuxent Institution has the exclusive power 
to recommend an inmate for parole to the Secretary of Public Safety and Correctional 
Services or the Governor. 
 
A person sentenced to a term of incarceration of six months or more is entitled to a parole 
hearing after having served one-fourth of the term or consecutive terms.  A person 
sentenced to more than one term, including a term during which the person is eligible for 
parole and a term during which the person is not eligible for parole, cannot be considered 
for parole unless the person has served the greater of one-fourth of the aggregate term or 
a period equal to the term during which the inmate is not eligible for parole. 
 
Parole eligibility for persons incarcerated for commission of a violent crime is as follows: 
 

• An inmate who has been sentenced to DOC after being convicted of a violent 
crime committed on or after October 1, 1994 is not eligible for parole until the 
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inmate has served the greater of one-half of the inmate’s aggregate sentence for 
violent crimes, or one-fourth of the inmate’s total aggregate sentence. 

• An inmate who has been sentenced to DOC after being convicted of a violent 
crime committed on or after October 1, 1994 and who has been sentenced to more 
than one term of imprisonment, including a term during which the inmate is 
eligible for parole and a term during which the inmate is not eligible for parole, is 
not eligible for parole until the inmate has served the greater of one-half of the 
inmate’s aggregate sentence for violent crimes; one-fourth of the inmate’s total 
aggregate sentence; or a period equal to the term during which the inmate is not 
eligible for parole. 

• An inmate who is serving a term of imprisonment for a violent crime committed 
on or after October 1, 1994 must receive an administrative review of the inmate’s 
progress in the correctional facility after the inmate has served the greater of 
one-fourth of the inmate’s aggregate sentence; or if the inmate is serving a term of 
imprisonment that includes a mandatory term during which the inmate is not 
eligible for parole, a period equal to the term during which the inmate is not 
eligible for parole. 

 
A person sentenced to life imprisonment is not eligible for parole consideration until that 
person has served 15 years.  A person sentenced to life imprisonment for first degree 
murder is not eligible for parole consideration until that person has served 25 years.  An 
inmate sentenced to life imprisonment without the possibility of parole is not eligible for 
parole consideration and may not be granted parole at any time during the inmate’s 
sentence.  This does not restrict the authority of the Governor to pardon or remit any part 
of a sentence.  If eligible for parole, an inmate serving a life term may only be paroled 
with the approval of the Governor. 
 
A person sentenced for a violent crime may petition for and be granted parole if the 
person is at least 65 years old and has served at least 15 years of the sentence imposed. 
 
A circuit court judge is required to state in open court, at the time of imposition of 
sentence for a violent crime (including burglary), the minimum time that must be served 
for parole eligibility. 
 
Background:  According to the Maryland Parole Commission, in calendar 2008, three 
inmates sentenced to a prison term for a violent crime were released on a mandatory 
supervision release (due to diminution credits earned) before serving one-half of their 
sentence.  Although the number of such releases tends to vary by year, the number tends 
to be quite small in any given year.   
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Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:   None.   
 
Cross File:  SB 654 (Senator Stone) - Judicial Proceedings. 
 
Information Source(s):  Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy, Judiciary 
(Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of Public Safety and Correctional 
Services, Department of Legislative Services   
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/hlb 

First Reader - March 5, 2009 
 

 
Analysis by:  Guy G. Cherry  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 
(301) 970-5510 

 




