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Public Service Companies - Passenger-For-Hire Services - Limousines

This bill (1) requires limousine services to pay the annual $4@&smsat to the Public
Service Commission (PSC) to support the For-Hire Driving Senitdésrcement Fund
by repealing the current exemption; (2) adds to the definitionlmh@usine, a vehicle
that is driven as part of a service that advertises itseliasrregistered with PSC, as a
limousine service; (3) prohibits an individual to operate a for-limeousine with
capacity to carry up to 15 people, unless he or she has a for-hinesdroense issued by
PSC; (4) prohibits an individual to allow another to operate the figmbdimousine
unless the operator possesses the PSC driver's license anidhdlisiie displays a
special limousine registration plate issued by the Motor Veldiainistration (MVA);
and (5) on conviction, makes a violation of these prohibitions a misdtensubjecting
the violator to up to one year imprisonment, a fine of up to $1,000, or dudhfor the
limousine operator only, two points under the Maryland Vehicle Law.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Special fund revenues increase by about $26,000 annually due to
additional fees collected by PSC. Transportation Trust Fund (&@mé&)other special
fund revenues increase minimally due to additional vehicle registrdees and
surcharges collected by MVA. General fund revenues and expendituressmc
minimally due to the bill's penalty provisions.

(in dollars) FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014
GF Revenue - - - - -
SF Revenue $26,000 $26,000 $26,000 $26,000 $26,000
GF Expenditure - - - - -
Net Effect $26,000 $26,000 $26,000 $26,000 $26,000

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect



Local Effect: Local government expenditures increase minimally due to thes bill’
incarceration penalty.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: A person may not operate a vehicle that provides passengerdor-hir
services in the State unless licensed as a passenger-fodhvwer by PSC.

A passenger-for-hire service includes limousine and sedan servicenousines are
Class Q vehicles which must be registered with MVA; the ahnegistration fee is
$185 per vehicle (paid biennially) and a special vehicle registrggiate is issued.
Sedans are Class B vehicles and pay a lower registratiotHfaeever, they also pay an
annual permit fee to PSC, which limousines do not pay. PSC remslgtrohibit a
motor vehicle in the public transportation of passengers or profortyire within the
State from operating until a permit has been obtained from PSC.

Background: According to the Maryland Limousine Association, a significamhiner
of limousine and sedan services are operating in the State wabioiying with State
law. The Montgomery County Office of Consumer Protection hasasetk an
investigative report finding that a number of limousine firms opewvéteut a license or
authorization from PSC, the Washington Metropolitan Area Transitralsesion, or the
Maryland Aviation Administration. PSC advises that it cotiyeregulates 650 for-hire
vehicles registered by MVA as limousines.

State Revenues. Assuming that the maximum $40 fee is assessed on each of the
650 registered limousine vehicles, For-Hire Driving Servicesi€rinent Fund revenues
increase by $26,000 in fiscal 2010. Future year revenues may chahdbenitumber of
registered limousines. PSC advises that the assessmgeasally made in October
each year; thus, Legislative Services assumes all 650 pay the feali2®i%0.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions. None.
CrossFilee HB 1088 (Delegate DeBowg al.) - Economic Matters.
Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Depantinef

Public Safety and Correctional Services, Public Service Cosionis Department of
Legislative Services
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Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 6, 2009
mam/ljm Revised - Senate Third Reader - March 31, 2009

Analysis by: Evan M. Isaacson Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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