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This bill requires the State Board of Education, on or before January 1, 2011, to adopt a 

program in the public schools to educate students about dating violence.  The program 

must include education on services provided to victims of dating violence and must be 

started before the sixth grade.   

 

The bill also expands the definition of a “victim of domestic violence” to include as the 

perpetrator a person with whom the individual has or has had a dating relationship.  The 

Governor is required to proclaim the first week of February as Tween/Teen Dating 

Violence Education and Awareness Week. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund expenditures increase by an estimated $13,600 in FY 2011 to 

develop a program in the public schools to educate students about dating violence.  The 

Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) can handle the bill’s requirements in 

future years using existing resources.  Revenues are not affected.  
  

(in dollars) FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 

Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

GF Expenditure 13,600 0 0 0 0 
Net Effect ($13,600) $0 $0 $0 $0 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

   

Local Effect:  Local school expenditures may increase minimally to implement the 

dating violence program with support from MSDE. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Pursuant to Chapter 344 of 2009, the State Board of Education must 

encourage local boards of education to incorporate age-appropriate lessons on dating 

violence into the health education curriculum.   

 

With the advice of the State Superintendent of Schools, the State Board of Education 

establishes basic policy and guidelines for the program of instruction for public schools.  

Subject to State law and the bylaws, policies, and guidelines established by the State 

Board of Education, each local board of education must establish the curriculum guides 

and courses of study for schools in its jurisdiction.   

 

A “victim of domestic violence” is defined as an individual who has received deliberate, 

severe and demonstrable physical injury or is in fear of imminent deliberate, severe, and 

demonstrable physical injury from a current or former spouse or a current or former 

cohabitant.  

 

Seven official commemorative days and two months are recognized in State law as 

shown in Exhibit 1.  The Governor also must issue a proclamation each year encouraging 

citizens and other individuals to observe a moment of silence at 3 p.m. on Memorial Day 

to unite in remembrance and commemorate the heroic acts and efforts of Marylanders 

who have served and died in the U.S. armed forces. 

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Official Commemorative Days and Months in Maryland 

 
Asian Lunar New Year Day

1
  January/February 

Black History Month February 

Women’s History Month  March 

John Hanson’s Birthday
2
  April 13 

Law Day  May 1 

Negro Baseball League Day Second Saturday in May 

Maryland Charter Day June 20  

Poetry Day October 15 

Annapolis Charter Day December 17 

 
1Day designated as New Year on the Asian lunar calendar. 
2John Hanson served as the first president of the Continental Congress under the Articles of 
Confederation from 1781 to 1782. 
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Background:  Kristin Marie Mitchell, an Ellicott City, Maryland native, was 21 when 

she was murdered by her boyfriend.  Following her death in 2005, her friends and family 

established the Kristin Mitchell Foundation to support educational efforts that raise 

awareness among young adults about the dangers of unhealthy dating relationships. 

 

The first full week in February has been recognized as National Teen Dating Violence 

Awareness and Prevention Week by the U.S. Congress every year since 2006.  According 

to the New York Times, limited public health research estimates about 10% of adolescent 

relationships are abusive.  An online survey by Liz Claiborne Inc. reports that only 51% 

of respondents claimed to know the warning signs of a bad or hurtful relationship, and 

one in five 13 to 14 year olds in a relationship say they know friends and peers who have 

been struck in anger by a boyfriend or girlfriend.  A survey by the New York City 

Department of Health and Mental Hygiene showed that dating violence in the city has 

risen by more than 40% since 1999. 
 

Some other states have begun to take action against tweens and teenagers dating violence. 

In 2006, Tennessee passed a law urging its department of education to develop 

curriculum for grades 7 through 12 to raise student awareness of teen dating and sexual 

violence.  Texas law requires each school district to adopt and implement a dating 

violence policy.  New York has recently expanded its domestic violence law to include 

teenagers in dating relationships.   
 

MSDE advises that the health education voluntary State curriculum includes a framework 

that addresses healthy relationships and domestic violence.  The Department of Human 

Resources advises that rape crisis centers provide prevention education and awareness 

programs in their local communities, including schools.  Dating violence is addressed 

under these circumstances, not only with students from elementary to high school, but 

also with parents, teachers, and other professionals. 

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures increase by an estimated $13,600 in 

fiscal 2011.  This estimate reflects the cost of developing age-appropriate resources 

regarding dating violence and posting the information online.  The estimate includes 

funds for travel reimbursement, as MSDE advises that the program will be created with 

input from local school system representatives and partner agencies.  The estimate also 

includes funds to purchase materials to develop and support a teacher training program 

that will be required once the program is developed.  Once the program is developed, 

MSDE can provide any technical support to local school systems using existing 

resources.   

 
Local Expenditures:  Local school systems will be responsible for costs associated with 

the implementation of the dating violence program developed by MSDE, including the 

duplication of materials and training teachers.  Frederick County estimates that its 
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expenditures will increase annually by $127,650 for workshops, professional 

development, and materials for the new program.  Montgomery County advises that 

schools already have violence awareness and prevention programs and that any costs for 

supplies and training associated with this bill will require a reduction in resources for 

other programs.   

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 845 of 2009 passed the House, but no action was taken on the 

bill in the Senate.  Its cross file, SB 1049, was amended and enacted as Chapter 344. 

 

Cross File:  SB 984 (Senator Muse) - Rules. 

 

Information Source(s):  Frederick, Montgomery, and Somerset counties; Department of 

Human Resources; Maryland State Department of Education; National Center for 

Victims of Crime; Liz Claiborne Inc.; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 16, 2010 

ncs/kdm 

 

Analysis by:  Jennifer K. Botts  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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