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Regulated Firearms - License Issued by Another State to Current or Former
Member of the Armed Forces - Reciprocity

This bill specifies that a license issued by another state to an individual who is a current
or former member of the armed forces of the United States to carry a regulated firearm,
including a concealed regulated firearm, is valid in Maryland.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: None. The bill’s requirements can be handled with the existing budgeted
resources of the Department of State Police. Any additional revenue from permit fees is
not expected to significantly affect State finances.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Title 5 of the Public Safety Article regulates firearms and handguns in
the State. A regulated firearm is any handgun or any of the 45 assault weapons (or
copies) identified in that article. Among other restrictions, a person may not possess a
regulated firearm in the State if the person was convicted of a crime of violence or a
violation of specified controlled dangerous substances offenses. A violator is guilty of a
felony and subject to a nonsuspendable, nonparolable mandatory minimum sentence of
five years. Each violation of this prohibition is a separate offense. Under a separate
prohibition relating to knowing participation in a violation of this title, a violator is



subject to maximum penalties of five years imprisonment and/or a fine of $10,000. Each
violation of this prohibition is also a separate offense.

A person may not wear, carry, or transport a handgun unless the person qualifies under an
express exemption or has been issued a permit to carry a handgun. Current exemptions
include on-duty law enforcement personnel of the United States, Maryland, or any county
or municipality in Maryland.

To be issued a permit to carry a handgun by the Secretary of State Police, an applicant
(1) must be 18 years of age or older; (2) must not have been convicted of a felony or
misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been
imposed or, if convicted, must have been pardoned or been granted relief under federal
law; (3) if the person is younger than 30 years of age, must not have been committed to a
facility for juveniles for longer than one year or adjudicated delinquent for a crime of
violence, a felony, or misdemeanor that carries a statutory penalty of more than two
years; (4) must not have been convicted of a controlled dangerous substance violation
and must not presently be an addict, a habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance,
or an alcoholic; (5) must not exhibit a propensity for violence or instability which may
reasonably render possession of a handgun a danger to himself/herself or another; and
(6) must have a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun.
“Good and substantial reason” includes a finding that the permit is necessary as a
reasonable precaution against apprehended danger.

A handgun permit application costs $75; two years after the initial permit, a $50 renewal
fee is due and every three years thereafter.

Background: Federal law does not regulate the carrying of concealed weapons.
Currently, only Illinois and Wisconsin do not permit citizens to carry concealed firearms
under any circumstances. Details of concealed weapons laws vary greatly among
jurisdictions, but most approaches fall into two categories. One of these categories is a
discretionary system called “may issue” licensing, where legal authorities grant licenses
only to those citizens who can establish a compelling need for carrying a concealed
handgun. The other system is a nondiscretionary one called “shall issue” licensing.
Under this system, legal authorities must provide a license to any applicant who meets
specific criteria. Of Maryland’s neighboring states, Delaware is a “may issue” state for
handguns, while Pennsylvania and Virginia are “shall issue” states.

Delaware

Delaware gives full faith and credit to all state-authorized licenses/permits issued to the
citizens of other states where the issuing states also give full faith and credit to licenses
issued by Delaware, and where those licenses/permits afford a “reasonably similar degree
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of protection” as is provided by licensure in Delaware. The term “reasonably similar”
does not preclude alternative or differing provisions nor a different source and process by
which eligibility is determined. However, if there is evidence of a pattern of issuing
licenses/permits to convicted felons in another state, the Attorney General may not
include that state on the reciprocity list even if the law of that state is determined to be
“reasonably similar.” The list is valid for one year and any removal of a state from the
list may not occur without one-year’s notice of the impending removal.

The Delaware Attorney General is required to publish, on January 15 of each year, a list
of all states which have qualified for reciprocal recognition of concealed weapon
licenses/permits from Delaware. The states with which Delaware has currently
established reciprocity are Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Kentucky,
Maine, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee,
Texas, Utah, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Pennsylvania

Under Pennsylvania law, there are six categories of firearms reciprocity status under the
Uniform Firearms Act.

] Category 1: States that have entered into formal written reciprocity agreements
with Pennsylvania that provide for reciprocal recognition of valid licenses/permits
issued by both states: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky,
Michigan, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota,
Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

L Category 2: States that have statutory reciprocity without a formal written
agreement, based on the determination of the Attorney General that the other state
has granted reciprocity to Pennsylvania license holders, and that the other state’s
laws governing firearms are similar: Colorado, Idaho, Indiana, Louisiana,
Montana, North Dakota, and Utah.

L Category 3: Unilateral reciprocity granted by another state for Pennsylvania
license holders, encompassing states which allow an individual who has been
issued a valid concealed firearm license from Pennsylvania to carry a firearm
while in those respective states.

° Category 4: “Application states,” whereby Pennsylvanians may apply for a
license/permit from another state:  Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, and
Washington.
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] Category 5: The other state does not recognize or grant licenses/permits to
individuals from another state, currently does not extend reciprocal privileges to
Pennsylvania license holders, or has not indicated current status: Alabama,
California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, lllinois, lowa, Kansas, Minnesota,
Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio,
Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Wisconsin.

] Category 6: Carry permitted without license/permit: Vermont, because that state
allows possession or carrying of a concealed firearm without a license/permit.

Virginia

Under Virginia law, a valid concealed handgun permit or license issued by another state
is valid in Virginia, provided that (1) the issuing authority provides the means for
instantaneous verification of the validity of all such permits or licenses issued within that
state, accessible 24 hours a day; and (2) the requirements and qualifications of the other
state’s law are adequate to prevent possession of a permit by persons who would be
denied a permit in Virginia. The Superintendent of State Police, in consultation with the
Office of the Attorney General, determines whether states meet the requirements and
gualifications of Virginia law. The superintendent may also enter into agreements for
reciprocal recognition with any qualifying state. In addition, a valid concealed handgun
permit issued by Maryland is valid in Virginia so long as the holder of the permit is
21 years of age or older, is licensed in Maryland to perform duties substantially similar to
those performed by licensed Virginia branch pilots, and is performing such duties while
in Virginia.

L The states with which Virginia has a formal written reciprocity agreement are
Alaska, Florida, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania,
South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, and West Virginia. Holders of
Virginia nonresident permits are advised to contact each reciprocal state to
determine if their permit will be recognized prior to carrying in that jurisdiction.
Florida law does not grant reciprocity to holders of Virginia nonresident permits.

° The states with which Virginia has mutual recognition (jurisdictions which have
informally agreed to honor permits issued by the other) are Arizona, Arkansas,
Delaware, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico,
North Dakota, Oklahoma, and Utah.

L The states to which Virginia will grant recognition to valid permit holders are
Minnesota, Washington, and Wyoming. Although Virginia will grant recognition,
these states may not authorize Virginia permit holders to possess a firearm in their
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state. Virginia permit holders are advised to contact each state to determine if they
will recognize the Virginia permit.

] Virgin Islands Temporary Permit: Persons with a valid Virginia concealed carry
permit may apply individually to the U.S. Virgin Islands Police Department for
temporary reciprocal recognition of a concealed carry license while in the Virgin
Islands. This temporary recognition is normally for 90 days from the date of issue.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.
Information Source(s): Department of State Police, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 8, 2010
mpc/hlb

Analysis by: Guy G. Cherry Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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