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This bill establishes a statutory maximum penalty of 15 years for possession of a regulated 

firearm by a person convicted of certain crimes of violence or drug-related crimes.  The 

bill also prohibits the possession of a rifle or a shotgun if a person was previously 

convicted of those crimes.  A violator is guilty of a felony and subject to a mandatory 

minimum, nonsuspendable, nonparolable sentence of 5 years and a maximum sentence of 

15 years.  Each violation must be considered a separate offense. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  No impact on general fund expenditures for Division of Correction (DOC) 

facilities in the near-term.  Any potential increases in imprisonment terms at 

DOC facilities resulting from the bill are not expected to significantly affect State 

incarceration costs. 

  

Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Title 5 of the Public Safety Article regulates firearms and handguns in 

the State.  A regulated firearm is any handgun or any of the 45 assault weapons 

(or copies) identified in that article.  Among other restrictions, a person may not possess a 

regulated firearm in the State if the person was convicted of a crime of violence or a 

violation of specified controlled dangerous substances offenses.  A violator is guilty of a 
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felony and subject to a nonsuspendable, nonparolable mandatory minimum sentence of 

five years.  Each violation of this prohibition is a separate offense.  Under a separate 

prohibition relating to knowing participation in a violation of this title, a violator is 

subject to maximum penalties of five years imprisonment and/or a fine of $10,000.  Each 

violation of this prohibition is also a separate offense.       

 

The term “rifle” means a weapon that is: (1) designed or redesigned, made or remade, 

and intended to be fired from the shoulder; and (2) designed or redesigned, and made or 

remade to use the energy of the explosive in a fixed metallic cartridge to fire only a single 

projectile through a rifled bore for each single pull of the trigger. 

 

The term “shotgun” means a weapon that is:  (1) designed or redesigned, made or 

remade, and intended to be fired from the shoulder; and (2) designed or redesigned and 

made or remade to use the energy of the explosive in a fixed shotgun shell to fire through 

a smooth bore one or more projectiles for each pull of the trigger. 

 

Background:  The two separate statutory sentencing provisions applicable to Title 5 of 

the Public Safety Article (as cited above) have been interpreted by the courts as 

mandating a five-year sentence, no more and no less.  A review of the Maryland 

Sentencing Guidelines database indicates that there were 108 convictions in Maryland 

circuit courts for illegal possession of a firearm after a conviction for crime of violence or 

drug felony in fiscal 2009.  

 

This bill brings State law closer to federal law, under 18 U.S.C. Section 922, which 

prohibits the possession of any firearm or ammunition by a person convicted in any court, 

of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year. 

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures may increase minimally as a result of 

the bill’s expanded application of an existing prohibition which results in an increase of 

maximum incarceration penalties applicable to violations; and potential violations from 

the new prohibition established by the bill.  The number of people affected by the bill’s 

provisions is expected to be minimal. 

 

Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in DOC facilities.  

Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at $2,750 

per month.  This bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional beds, 

personnel, or facilities.  Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new DOC 

inmate (including variable medical care and variable operating costs) is $371 per month.  

Excluding all medical care, the average variable costs total $182 per month.  
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Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  HB 358 (Delegate Anderson, et al.) (By Request - Baltimore City 

Administration) - Judiciary. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), State’s 

Attorneys’ Association, State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy, Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 12, 2010 

Revised - Senate Third Reader - April 2, 2010 
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Analysis by:   Guy G. Cherry  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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