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This bill requires a sales contract for specified single-family residential real property to 

contain notice of the purchaser’s right to appeal the classification or valuation of the 

property by the State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) within 60 days 

of the sale if the property is transferred after January 1 but before July 1. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal decrease in general fund revenues, to the extent that 

additional appeals are filed due to an increased awareness of existing State law and such 

appeals are favorable to property owners. 

  

Local Effect:  Potential minimal decrease in local property tax revenues to the extent that 

additional appeals are filed due to an increased awareness of existing State law and such 

appeals are favorable to property owners.  

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  A taxpayer may appeal the valuation or classification of real property to 

the SDAT supervisor of assessments (1) by submitting a written appeal within 45 days of 

receipt of an assessment notice; (2) by requesting a petition for review before the date of 

finality for the next taxable year; or (3) within 60 days of the purchase of a property that 

was transferred after January 1 but before July 1. 
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Background:  SDAT establishes a value for each property in the State through a uniform 

system of assessments.  If a taxpayer disagrees with the assessment, an appeal may be 

filed with the supervisor of assessments (assessor) where information is exchanged at an 

informal hearing.  Under current procedure, the petitioner in an appeal bears the burden 

of proving why a property tax assessment is incorrect.  At an informal hearing, the 

assessor either affirms or adjusts the initial assessment, and a final notice of the decision 

is ultimately mailed to the taxpayer.  

 

If a taxpayer disagrees with the assessor’s property valuation, a second appeal may be 

filed with a Property Tax Assessment Appeal Board (PTAAB) within 30 days of receipt 

of the assessor’s notice.  There is one PTAAB in each county and Baltimore City 

comprising four members appointed by the Governor for five-year terms.  If a taxpayer is 

dissatisfied with the appeal board’s decision, a subsequent appeal may be filed with the 

Maryland Tax Court (MTC).  MTC is an independent body appointed by the Governor 

and provides the final administrative hearing for appeals from taxing authorities in 

Maryland.  An MTC ruling may be appealed further to the circuit court. 

 

Exhibit 1 shows the number of real property transfers between January and June of 2007 

through 2009 and the percentage of property tax appeals from 2006 to 2009. 

 

 

Exhibit 1 

State Department of Assessments and Taxation 

Real Property Transfers and Property Tax Assessment Appeals 

   

Year/Group Assessment Notices Sent Number Appealed Percent Appealed 
 (000s) (000s) 

 

 

2006 – Group 3 710.6 33.4 4.7% 

2007 – Group 1 677.1 32.5 4.8% 

2008 – Group 2 735.8 49.3 6.7% 

2009 – Group 3 673.2 38.0 5.6% 

 
Note:  The 2009 number of appeals is an approximation of the actual total. 

 
Source:  State Department of Assessments and Taxation. 
 

 

 2007 2008 2009 
 

Real property transfers (January through June) 

 

103,697 

 

77,234 

 

67,073 
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In Exhibit 1, real property transfer totals include transactions involving private improved 

lots, private vacant lots, multiple parcels, and not-at-arms-length transactions.  Although 

the total transfers of real property have decreased sharply in the past three years, the 

number of property owners filing property tax assessment appeals with SDAT has 

increased.  SDAT last evaluated the property owners reassessed in 2009 three years 

earlier.  In 2006, about 4.7% or 33,400 owners in Group 3 appealed their property 

assessment notice; those figures increased to approximately 5.6% or 38,000 owners in 

2009. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  State Department of Assessments and Taxation, Office of the 

Attorney General (Consumer Protection Division), Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 18, 2010 

Revised - House Third Reader - March 24, 2010 

 

mpc/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Jason F. Weintraub  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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