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Criminal Law - Home Invasion Crime of Violence 
 

 

This bill prohibits a person from breaking and entering into the dwelling of another 

person and committing a crime of violence against a lawful occupant of the dwelling 

(“home invasion”).  A violator is guilty of a felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to 

30 years.  A person is also prohibited from committing a home invasion while using or 

displaying a dangerous weapon.  A violator is guilty of a felony and is subject to a 

maximum penalty of imprisonment for 30 years, which must run consecutively to a 

sentence imposed for any crime establishing the violation of the home invasion statute.   

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Minimal increase in general fund expenditures due to the bill’s enhanced 

penalties for this type of offense and the requirement that sentences run consecutively.    

  

Local Effect:  None.  The bill does not materially affect local finances. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  A person may not break and enter the dwelling of another with the intent 

to commit theft or a crime of violence.  A violator is guilty of first-degree burglary, a 

felony punishable by up to 20 years imprisonment. 

 

A person may not break and enter the dwelling of another with the intent to commit a 

crime.  A violator is guilty of burglary in the third degree, a felony punishable by up to 
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10 years imprisonment.  Burglary in the second degree involves breaking and entering a 

storehouse, not a dwelling. 
 

A person who breaks and enters the dwelling of another or is in or on the dwelling of or an 

area belonging to the dwelling of another with the intent to commit theft is guilty of 

burglary in the fourth degree, a misdemeanor punishable by up to three years 

imprisonment.   

 

A “crime of violence” is:  (1) abduction; (2) arson in the first degree; (3) kidnapping; 

(4) manslaughter, except involuntary manslaughter; (5) mayhem; (6) maiming; 

(7) murder; (8) rape; (9) robbery; (10) carjacking (including armed carjacking); (11) first 

and second degree sexual offenses; (12) use of a handgun in the commission of a felony 

or other crime of violence; (13) child abuse in the first degree; (14) sexual abuse of a 

minor under the age of 13 years under specified circumstances; (15) an attempt to commit 

crimes (1) through (14); (16) continuing course of conduct with a child; (17) assault in 

the first degree; or (18) assault with intent to murder, rape, rob, or commit a sexual 

offense in the first or second degree. 

 

Background:  In many states, home invasions are treated as a form of burglary.  

Connecticut, Illinois, and Michigan are among the states that have specific home invasion 

statutes. 
 

In fiscal 2009, the Division of Correction (DOC) conducted intake on 520 individuals for 

burglary offenses.  Of these individuals, 186 were convicted of first-degree burglary.  

According to the most recent version of the Uniform Crime Report, there were 

38,849 reports of breaking and entering during 2008, a 5% increase over 2007.  The 

report defines “breaking and entering” as the unlawful entry of a structure to commit a 

felony or theft.  There were 7,495 arrests for burglary statewide during 2008, compared 

to 7,104 arrests during 2007.   
 

State Expenditures:  The bill imposes a maximum penalty of 30 years imprisonment for 

home invasion, which is greater than the current 20 year maximum penalty for 

first-degree burglary, the most severe form of burglary.  Also, a sentence imposed for 

home invasion must run consecutively to a sentence imposed for any crime establishing 

the violation of the home invasion statute.  As a result, general fund expenditures increase 

minimally as a result of the bill’s incarceration penalty due to people being committed to 

DOC facilities for longer periods of time. 
 

Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in DOC facilities.  

Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at 

$2,750 per month.  This bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional 

beds, personnel, or facilities.  Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new 
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DOC inmate (including variable medical care and variable operating costs) is 

$409 per month.  Excluding all medical care, the average variable costs total 

$182 per month.   

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy; Judiciary 

(Administrative Office of the Courts); State’s Attorneys’ Association; Connecticut OLR 

Research Report; “Home Invasion Laws in Other States,” February 6, 2008; Department 

of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 28, 2010 

 mam/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Amy A. Devadas  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 

 


	HB 776
	Department of Legislative Services
	Maryland General Assembly
	2010 Session
	FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE
	Fiscal Summary
	Analysis
	Additional Information




