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Tanning Devices - Use by Minors - Prohibition

This bill prohibits a minor from using a tanning device and prohibits the owner,
employee, or operator of a tanning facility from distributing to a minor a pass, coupon, or
package redeemable for use of a tanning device. Violators are subject to civil penalties.
Fines for violations are up to $250 for the first violation; up to $500 for the second
violation; and up to $1,000 for each subsequent violation.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the bill’s
penalty provisions assuming imposition and collection by the Secretary of Health and
Mental Hygiene. No effect on expenditures.

Local Effect: Minimal. The bill’s provisions supersede local regulations; therefore, a
county that has adopted tanning regulations that are not equivalent to those of the State
will be required to amend its regulations.

Small Business Effect: Potentially meaningful for small tanning businesses that derive
business from customers who are minors.

Analysis

Current Law: Chapter 691 of 2008 prohibits an owner, employee, or operator of a
tanning facility from allowing a minor younger than age 18 to use a tanning device unless
the minor’s parent or legal guardian provides written consent on the premises of the
tanning facility and in the presence of an owner, employee, or operator of the tanning
facility. Violators are subject to civil penalties. Fines for violations are up to $250 for



the first violation; up to $500 for the second violation; and up to $1,000 for each
subsequent violation. Chapter 691 does not preempt local governments from enacting
and enforcing more stringent measures regulating the use of tanning devices by minors.

The Radiological Health Program within the Maryland Department of the Environment is
required to control the uses of radiation and to protect the public health and safety and the
environment from inadvertent and unnecessary radiation exposure. This is accomplished
through registration of radiation machines, licensing of radioactive materials, inspections,
and enforcement actions to ensure regulatory compliance.

At the federal level, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration enforces regulations relating
to labels on tanning devices. The labels are intended to inform consumers of the
appropriate use and potential dangers of tanning equipment.

Background: According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, most tanning
equipment emits two types of ultraviolet (UV) radiation: UVA and UVB. UVB has long
been associated with sunburn, while UVA has been recognized as a deeper penetrating
radiation. Tanning equipment mainly produces UVA radiation, sometimes known as
“tanning rays.” While UV A radiation from artificial tanning equipment is less likely to
cause sunburn than UVB radiation from sunlight, that does not make UV A radiation safe.

In July 2009, the World Health Organization (WHO) reclassified tanning beds and UV
radiation as carcinogenic. Until this reclassification, tanning beds and UV radiation were
considered “probably carcinogenic to humans.” WHO reclassified tanning beds and UV
radiation after a comprehensive analysis that concluded that the risk of skin melanoma is
increased by 75% when people start using tanning beds prior to age 35. WHO
recommends banning tanning bed use for people younger than age 18.

California prohibits minors younger than age 14 from using an ultraviolet tanning device.
Connecticut law requires minors younger than age 16 to obtain written consent of a
parent or guardian in order to use a tanning facility, and Florida law requires a parent or
guardian to accompany a minor younger than age 14 when using a tanning device.

In November 2009, Howard County became the first local jurisdiction in the United
States to prohibit those younger than age 18 from using tanning devices without a written
prescription from the minor’s physician. In addition, Howard County Board of Health
regulations require tanning facility personnel to check photo-identification to ensure the
customer is not a minor. The Howard County Board of Health also established more
stringent sanitation and hygiene practices for tanning facilities and required an owner of a
tanning facility to register with the board and pay a registration fee that must be renewed
annually.
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When the Howard County Board of Health held a public hearing regarding the tanning
prohibition for minors, the majority of tanning facility owners testified that minors
represented less than 3% of their business. However, some tanning salon owners
reported that 20% to 25% of their customers are teenagers.

Local Fiscal Effect: According to DHMH, Howard County is the only jurisdiction with
tanning regulations that will need to be amended under the bill.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File:  Although HB 1039 (Delegate Bronrott, et al. - Economic Matters) is
designated as a cross file, it is not identical.

Information Source(s): World Health Organization; Baltimore, Garrett, Howard, and
Montgomery counties; Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; Department of
Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 4, 2010
ncs/mwece

Analysis by: Erin McMullen Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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