# HOUSE BILL 617

## HUUS

#### By: Montgomery County Delegation and Prince George's County Delegation Introduced and read first time: February 9, 2011 Assigned to: Environmental Matters

### A BILL ENTITLED

#### 1 AN ACT concerning

L5, L3

$\frac{2}{3}$	Maryland–Washington Metropolitan District and Regional District – Boundaries – City of Laurel			
4	MC/PG 108–11			
<b>5</b>	FOR the purpose of altering a certain provision of law to provide that the boundaries			
$\frac{6}{7}$	of the Maryland–Washington Metropolitan District do not include the City of Laurel as its boundaries are defined as of a certain date; altering a certain			
8	provision of law to provide that the boundaries of the Maryland–Washington			
9	Regional District include all of Prince George's County except the City of Laurel			
10	as its boundaries are defined as of a certain date; and generally relating to the			
11	boundaries of the Maryland–Washington Metropolitan District and the			
12	Maryland–Washington Regional District.			
13	BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,			
14	Article 28 – Maryland–National Capital Park and Planning Commission			
15	Section 3–102(b) and 7–103			
16	Annotated Code of Maryland			
17	(2010 Replacement Volume)			
18	SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF			
19	MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:			
20	Article 28 – Maryland–National Capital Park and Planning Commission			
21	3–102.			
22	(b) (1) The metropolitan district shall include all of Prince George's			
23	County except for those areas excluded under this subsection.			

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW. [Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.



#### HOUSE BILL 617

 $\mathbf{2}$ 

$egin{array}{c} 1 \\ 2 \\ 3 \end{array}$	(2) The metropolitan district does not include the following municipal corporations, as the municipal corporations' boundaries were defined as of July 1, 1995:			
4		(i)	District Heights; and	
5		(ii)	Greenbelt.	
6 7	(3) The metropolitan district does not include the City of Laurel as in municipal corporate boundaries existed on July 1, <b>[</b> 1997 <b>] 2011</b> .			
8 9	(4) districts, as the ele		metropolitan district does not include the following election districts' boundaries were defined as of July 1, 1966:	
10		(i)	Election District No. 4; and	
11		(ii)	Election District No. 8.	
12	7–103.			
13 14	(a) The entire area of Montgomery County is within the regional district, subject to the provisions of § 7–105 of this title.			
15 16 17	(b) The entire area of Prince George's County is within the regional district, with the exception of the City of Laurel, as its corporate boundaries are defined as of July 1, [2008] <b>2011</b> . A municipal corporation within the areas added by this			
$\frac{18}{19}$	subsection to the Maryland–Washington Regional District is not authorized, by means of an amendment to its charter or otherwise, to exercise any of the powers relating to			
20	planning, subdivision control, or zoning granted by the Maryland–National Capital			
$\begin{array}{c} 21 \\ 22 \end{array}$	Park and Planning Commission or the County Council of Prince George's County. If this subsection for any reason is hold by any court of compotent jurisdiction to be			
<i>44</i>	this subsection for any reason is held by any court of competent jurisdiction to be			

this subsection for any reason is held by any court of competent jurisdiction to be invalid, it is declared to be the intention of the General Assembly that this subsection is severable and that the remaining portions of this subsection would have been enacted without the invalid portions.

26 SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect 27 July 1, 2011.