SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1

P5, P1 SJ 1/10 – B&T

By: Senators Shank, Brinkley, Jacobs, Jennings, Pipkin, Reilly, and Simonaire

Introduced and read first time: January 28, 2011

Assigned to: Budget and Taxation

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A Senate Joint Resolution concerning

2 3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10 11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

Maryland Sovereignty Under the Tenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States

FOR the purpose of declaring the sovereignty of the State of Maryland under the Tenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States; and providing notice and demand to the government of the United States to cease and desist imposing mandates that are beyond the scope of the powers delegated to the federal government under the Constitution of the United States.

WHEREAS, The Tenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States reads as follows: "The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people"; and

WHEREAS, The Tenth Amendment defines the total scope of federal powers as being that power specifically granted by the Constitution of the United States and no more; and

WHEREAS, The scope of federal power defined by the Tenth Amendment means that the federal government was created by the states specifically to be an agent of the states; and

WHEREAS, The authority of the states has been eroded primarily by four developments, including: (1) federal assumption of powers reserved to the states under the Tenth Amendment; (2) interpretations of the "Commerce Clause" under the Constitution of the United States that go beyond any reasonable conception, and in effect authorize federal preemption with respect to any issue for which some faint or circuitous connection can be made to interstate commerce; (3) the threat of withholding, withdrawing, or diverting federal funds to coerce compliance with federal policies; and (4) failure by the states to challenge federal intrusions; and



3

4

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

WHEREAS, Many state governments have endorsed federal usurpation by seeking federal funding and accepting federal delegations of power; and

WHEREAS, Today, in 2011, the states demonstrably are treated as agents of the federal government; and

- WHEREAS, Numerous resolutions have been forwarded by the states over the years to the federal government without any response or result from the United States Congress or the federal government; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Many federal mandates are directly in violation of the Tenth 9 Amendment to the Constitution of the United States; and
- WHEREAS, The United States Supreme Court ruled in New York v. United States, 112 S. Ct. 2408 (1992), that Congress may not simply commandeer the legislative and regulatory processes of the states; and
- WHEREAS, A number of proposals from previous Administrations of the Chief Executive and some now pending under the current Administration and from Congress may further violate the Constitution of the United States; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the State of Maryland hereby claims sovereignty under the Tenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States over all powers not otherwise enumerated and granted to the federal government by the Constitution of the United States; and be it further
 - RESOLVED, That this Resolution serve as Notice and Demand to the government of the United States, as our agent, to cease and desist, effective immediately, mandates that are beyond the scope of its constitutionally delegated powers; and be it further
 - RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of the United States, The White House, Washington, D.C. 20500; the Honorable Harry Reid, United States Senate Majority Leader, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; the Honorable John Boehner, Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515; and the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Barbara A. Mikulski and Benjamin L. Cardin, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and Representatives Andrew P. Harris, C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P. Sarbanes, Donna Edwards, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, Roscoe G. Bartlett, Elijah E. Cummings, and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., House
- 36 Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515.