SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 3

P1, M1 1lr1185

By: Senators Gladden, Conway, Forehand, Frosh, Jones-Rodwell, Madaleno, McFadden, Muse, and Pugh

Introduced and read first time: February 3, 2011

Assigned to: Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A Senate Joint Resolution concerning

3	FOR the purpose of establishing a commission to rename Negro Mountain and Polish
4	Mountain; providing for the membership of the commission; requiring the

commission to provide certain information to the Governor, General Assembly,

Commission to Rename Mountains in the State

Maryland State Archives, Maryland Geological Survey, and Department of Natural Resources on or before a certain date; and generally relating to

establishing a commission to rename mountains in the State.

9 WHEREAS, Negro Mountain is located in Garrett County, with its highest 10 point reaching 3,075 feet; and

WHEREAS, Polish Mountain is located in Allegany County, with its highest point reaching 1,783 feet; and

WHEREAS, The names of these mountains should be changed to reflect more accurately the history and culture of the region within which they are located; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Governor, in consultation with the Maryland State Archives, Maryland Geological Survey, and Department of Natural Resources, shall establish a commission to rename Nagro Mountain in Garrett County and Polish Mountain in Allegany County; and ho it

Negro Mountain in Garrett County and Polish Mountain in Allegany County; and be it

20 further

2

5 6

7

8

16

17

18

21

22

23

24

25

26

RESOLVED, That the commission be composed of an appropriate number of members appointed by the Governor; and be it further

RESOLVED, That, on or before December 31, 2011, the commission inform the Governor, General Assembly, Maryland State Archives, Maryland Geological Survey, and Department of Natural Resources of the new names that were selected for Negro Mountain and Polish Mountain; and be it further



RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Martin O'Malley, Governor of Maryland; the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and the Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House of Delegates.