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Criminal Law - Home Invasion Violent Crime 
 

 

This bill establishes the offense of home invasion violent crime.  A person may not break 

and enter the dwelling of another person and commit one or more specified violent 

crimes against a lawful occupant of the dwelling.  Violators are guilty of a felony and 

subject to a maximum penalty of 30 years imprisonment.  A sentence imposed for this 

offense may be separate from and consecutive to the any other crime that arises from the 

conduct underlying the home invasion violent crime.   

 

The bill also adds “home invasion violent crime” to the definition of “crime of violence” 

in the Criminal Law Article.   

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Minimal increase in general fund expenditures due to the bill’s enhanced 

penalties for this type of offense.     

  

Local Effect:  None.  The bill does not materially affect local finances. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  A person may not break and enter the dwelling of another with the intent 

to commit theft or a crime of violence.  A violator is guilty of first-degree burglary, a 

felony punishable by up to 20 years imprisonment. 
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A person may not break and enter the dwelling of another with the intent to commit a 

crime.  A violator is guilty of burglary in the third degree, a felony punishable by up to 

10 years imprisonment.  Burglary in the second degree involves breaking and entering a 

storehouse, not a dwelling. 
 

A person who breaks and enters the dwelling of another or is in or on the dwelling of or an 

area belonging to the dwelling of another with the intent to commit theft is guilty of 

burglary in the fourth degree, a misdemeanor punishable by up to three years 

imprisonment.   
 

A “crime of violence” is:  (1) abduction; (2) arson in the first degree; (3) kidnapping; 

(4) manslaughter, except involuntary manslaughter; (5) mayhem; (6) maiming; 

(7) murder; (8) rape; (9) robbery; (10) carjacking (including armed carjacking); (11) first 

and second degree sexual offenses; (12) use of a handgun in the commission of a felony 

or other crime of violence; (13) child abuse in the first degree; (14) sexual abuse of a 

minor under the age of 13 years under specified circumstances; (15) an attempt to commit 

crimes (1) through (14); (16) continuing course of conduct with a child; (17) assault in 

the first degree; or (18) assault with intent to murder, rape, rob, or commit a sexual 

offense in the first or second degree. 

 

A conviction for a “crime of violence” has several employment and correctional 

consequences, including ineligibility for certain jobs and occupational licenses, a reduced 

rate for earning diminution credits, and limited parole eligibility. 
 

Background:  In many states, home invasions are treated as a form of burglary.  

Connecticut, Illinois, and Michigan are among the states that have specific home invasion 

statutes. 
 

In fiscal 2010, the Division of Correction (DOC) conducted intake on 580 individuals for 

burglary offenses.  Of these individuals, 241 were convicted of first-degree burglary.  

According to the most recent version of the Uniform Crime Report, there were 

36,905 reports of breaking and entering during 2009, a 5% decrease over 2008.  The 

report defines “breaking and entering” as the unlawful entry of a structure to commit a 

felony or theft.  There were 6,663 arrests for burglary statewide during 2009, compared 

to 7,495 arrests during 2008.   

 

State Expenditures:  The bill imposes a maximum penalty of 30 years imprisonment for 

home invasion, which is greater than the current 20-year maximum penalty for 

first-degree burglary, the most severe form of burglary.  As a result, general fund 

expenditures increase minimally as a result of the bill’s incarceration penalty due to 

people being committed to DOC facilities for longer periods of time. 
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Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in DOC facilities.  

Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at 

$2,920 per month.  This bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional 

beds, personnel, or facilities.  Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new 

DOC inmate (including variable medical care and variable operating costs) is about 

$390 per month.  Excluding all medical care, the average variable costs total $170 per 

month.   

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 776 of 2010, a similar bill, received a hearing in the House 

Judiciary Committee.  No further action was taken.   

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy; Judiciary 

(Administrative Office of the Courts); Office of the Public Defender; Department of 

Public Safety and Correctional Services; Connecticut OLR Research Report, Home 

Invasion Laws in Other States, February 6, 2008; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 8, 2011 

 ncs/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Amy A. Devadas  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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